logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Sisters
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-05-20 03:58
All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters
All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters - Tom Taylor,David López

Laura Kinney (X-23) taking on the mantle of Wolverine after Logan’s death is a premise I feel conflicted about. On one hand, who better to be Wolverine than his clone? On the other hand, it feels like a step back for her because she is his clone. Part of Laura’s journey has been establishing herself as her own person separate from her creators’ intended purpose of her being Wolverine’s replacement. Which is why Laura taking on the mantle of Wolverine feels like a step back on being her own person.

 

That being said, this was a fun book for Laura and I loved seeing her being a hero. Laura gets to deal with some clones of her own. Her dynamic with them was excellent. One of the clones, Gabby, was particularly adorable. I can’t wait to see more of Laura and Gabby together.

 

Laura’s new story is a great showing for her overall, even if I am a bit worried about her losing her own identity by taking on the mantle of the man she was cloned from. I definitely plan on enjoying her time as the Wolverine, but I’ll also be waiting for her to step back out of Logan’s shadow and claim her own identity. She deserves that.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-04-15 00:00
Lost and Found Sisters
Lost and Found Sisters - Jill Shalvis

If there was one book that needs to be read, I would say it's Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis. Ms. Shalvis has a way of getting under the skin and setting up residence within the tight confines of the heart. Quinn's quest of self - discovery is littered with loss, grief, secrets and answers to questions she never thought to ask. Lost and Found Sisters is not just a novel about the bond between sisters. It is the road map of a courageous woman looking to find her way home. An eye - opening, uplifting experience.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-09 20:54
Big Little Lies - Liane Moriarty 
Big Little Lies - Liane Moriarty

Broke my reading block, I hope. Liane is sister to Jaclyn, whose books I've adored. How cool is this family?

 


April 10, 2017
Told Erin how much I enjoyed her recommendation, and about my delight in discovering that Liane was sister to Jaclyn. Now I'm going to read all of Liane's books and Erin said she'll give Jaclyn a go, since she's read all of Liane's.

 

Library copy

Recommended by Erin

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-09 05:33
REVIEW: BREAK THE RULES
Break the Rules (The Flanagan Sisters, #... Break the Rules (The Flanagan Sisters, #1) - Claire Boston

When I discovered that Claire Boston wrote this book, I silently wished that I would be able to get my hands on a copy. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that it was available for request through The Romance Review, I immediately jumped at the chance to get a copy for review. You are probably wondering why I was so excited. Well, after reading Into the Fire, which I enjoyed, I figured, especially after reading the synopsis, that this would a good read. It proved me right; I enjoyed every moment spent reading this installment. 


The premise is intriguing. The protagonists, Bridget and Jack, met in a nightclub. They immediately hit it off. Jack, after spending three years in Australia, recently returned to Texas, due to a lucrative job opportunity that he could not resist. Bridget is not in a good place. The promotion she was hoping for never materialised, and to add insult to injury, an outsider got the position over her. Having been burned by a previous relationship, she threw herself into her job, which proved to be a waste of time. Therefore, meeting Jack at a time when she felt unworthy seemed like the best thing that could have happened to her.

Bridget is a person who lived by the rules and she had specific ones when it came to dating--never sleep with a man on the first date and do not date a co-worker. When she met Jack she was willing to break the first rule, little did she know that this would lead to her breaking the second rule.

The characters are relatable and realistic. The issues are a replica of real life. Bridget is a responsible person who took life seriously. For her, it was all work and she hardly spent time having fun. She is caring, selfless, determined, industrious, dedicated and passionate. Jack is a lovable person. He liked and respected Bridget. He understood her fears and even though it did not help his case, he did not try to push her. However, keeping to her resolve was not easy as circumstances kept putting them together outside of the work environment. Compromise is the name of the game in this situation. Would breaking her rules bring happiness or will it end in heartache?

The dialogue between the characters is funny and engaging. I especially loved the dialogue between the protagonists as well as their interaction with their families. I did not particularly like Bridget's best friend. She is willing to manipulate anyone to get what she wants, it did not matter who got hurt in the process.

This is a beautiful love story loaded with lots of sexual tension due to its forbidden nature. The writing is solid; it held me captive throughout the entire story. I liked that it did not focus solely on the romance between Jack and Bridget. It spoke also to the discrimination that women face while working in an environment dominated by men and safety in the workplace. Sadly, these issues still plague our society, even after years of fighting for equality and the well-being of employees.

Verdict:
A great start to the series, and one which I recommend. I cannot wait to get my hands on the next book in the series.


Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-04-03 06:14
The Sisters of Blue Mountain
The Sisters of Blue Mountain - Karen Katchur

By:  Karen Katchur

ISBN: 1250066824

Publisher: St. Martin's Press 

Publication Date: 4/4/2017 

Format: Hardcover

My Rating: 5 Stars

 

Talented Karen Katchur returns following (2015) The Secrets of Lake Road with another emotional mystery domestic suspense, THE SISTERS OF BLUE MOUNTAIN — two timelines connect for a riveting page-turner of the strong bonds of family.

Set in a fictional tourist town of Mountain Springs, PA, two young sisters Linnet and Myrna grew up in a home with a professor for a dad and a mother which suffers from extreme depression. When the girls were young, the father decided they would turn the large home into a Bed and Breakfast Inn, called the Snow Goose.

True to its name the Snow Goose was the main attraction in the small town, thriving on the snow geese migration. Each year, the birds flock to the dam, and the tourists follow. The geese migrated late winter and early spring, flying over Pennsylvania en route to Canada. Tourists traveled from as far away as Virginia to see the snow geese making their trip north, swimming in the dam, resting in the fields.

The girls are now grown. The mother is deceased, and the father has moved to the guest house and suffers from dementia. He is a retired ornithologist. Linnet (the older sister), now oversees the management of the inn with her husband Ian, and twelve-year-old son, Hank.

The younger sister, Myrna left the small-town life, years earlier and resides in Florida. Why did she want to escape the memories? She is very unsettled in her own personal life since Ben wants to get married and she does not believe in the institution, with no role models from her own childhood.

Something happened when the girls were teens. A tragedy. A dark secret. The sisters were once close and now estranged.

As the book opens, it is their busiest season, and the geese are dead. Everywhere. Hundreds of them. How could this have happened? Linnet cannot have dead geese in the yard.

Pop (the dad) is seventy-three and his mind is not what it once was. He is called the “Bird Man”. Pop had taught classes at the university years ago and the inn was left to the mother. Of course, with her depression (mental illness), a lot of the work was left to the girls. The girls have a lot of guilt from an event in the past.

Of course, the dad is not sure this is a nightmare or reality with the geese.

With another storyline, Jake is a reporter from Leigh Valley and sent to cover the story. He also has ties with this town. His dad died in a car accident years ago, and Jake was still not satisfied with the results of the investigation. He thinks this may be a good time to kill two birds. (no pun intended).

Jake had found an old Nokia cell phone. He was going to have a hacker try and locate the last phone number dialed. The phone was found with his dad’s body at the car crash.

What was his dad doing on a road in this town? How is this family connected to his father’s death?

The town makes national news and Myrna returns home. There is friction between her and her older sister. In the meantime, the professor who gets called in to investigate the birds' death (helping the father since he is too old), turns up dead. Then more fish.

The father is the prime suspect and his best friend Charlie is the chief of police, putting him in an awkward position. Pop loved the birds as well as the townspeople. They relied on the birds to bring tourists and money into the town.

With panic from everyone, not only do they have a crisis on their hand, now a murder. They cannot allow their father to be charged with the murder.

In the meantime, the closer Jake gets to solving the case of his father, the more the two sisters fear their long hidden secret will be unraveled. They are not speaking to one another. Keeping secrets can become deadly and stay with you through life. As the investigation unfolds, the sisters must confront one another and their hidden past.

Karen keeps you hooked from the first page to the last —turning the pages with several different mysteries and suspense going on at the same time. The most intriguing storyline is the mother and the girl’s past and how they are intertwined possibly with Jake’s father.

The author also crosses some moral lines and proposes some thought-provoking questions. As in her first book, the author delves into the complexities of interpersonal relationships and the parallels between land and life. An ideal choice for book clubs and further discussions.

Fans of Mary Alice Monroe and David Bell will enjoy, this well-written complex yet powerful family saga of sisters, combined with nature and lush settings.

 

Interview with the Author The Big Thrill

A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an early reading copy.

JDCMustReadBooks

Source: www.judithdcollinsconsulting.com/single-post/2016/07/01/The-Sisters-of-Blue-Mountain
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?