logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: gripping
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-11-20 16:39
London Noir by Ann Girdharry
London Noir: A gripping crime suspense t... London Noir: A gripping crime suspense thriller (Kal Medi Book 2) - Ann Girdharry

Closure for the first book.
All the things that you felt left hung in Good Girl Bad Girl were answered and put to rest in this book. I did love that, and the new plot too, as well as feeling it's complete.
If Kal Medi is in  a third book, it would HAVE to be a new plot, story and everything. No questions were left raised in book 2.
It was more exciting for me, and that is rare for a second book to better than the first. I feel that was as this story had a beginning, middle and end, where the first book wasn't like that at all.
Really good stuff together though!! I know many of you will enjoy reading about Kal Medi and all that she gets herself into.

 

 

Source: www.fredasvoice.com/2017/11/win-london-noir-by-ann-girdharry-intl.html
Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-11-08 14:27
Broken Bones - Angela Marsons

With thanks to Netgalley and my favourite publisher Bookoutre for this ARC in exchange for an open and honest review.

 

I can't believe Angela Marsons has written her seventh book in the DI Kim Stone series.  This series has gone from strength and I am glad that her colleagues Stacey Wood and Kevin Dawson have become strong characters in their own right.

 

Broken Bones stars on a funny note when Kim finds an abandoned baby outside the police station on a cold January night.  I have to admit I did enjoy her discomfort when she had to call Bryant from home to care for the baby.  On the same night prostitute Kelly Rowe was last seen getting into a punters car, she was later found murdered in a alleyway.

 

Stacy and Dawson tried to find the baby's mother and discovered she may be Romanian.  They go to a handbag factory when they employ Romanians and uncover a modern day slave operation.  Meanwhile another prositute is found murdered in a toilet who worked on the same strip as Kelly.  Kim then becomes aware of a young girl who went to see a friend and never returned home.  Kim soon discovers aspects of the missing person enquiry runs parallel to her murders.

 

I think Broken Bones was the darkest story yet from Angela Marsons.  It covered all the worst parts of modern England, child prostitution, illegal immigration, criminal gangs and debt.  If I had to be fussy I missed Kim's dog Barney which would of lent some lighter moments to the story.  As always this was a fast paced novel with never any dull moments.  if you are new to this series I advise you to start with book one to see how Kim's character develops.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2017-10-25 12:09
The Secret Child: A gripping novel of fa... The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets that will leave you in tears - Kerry Fisher

One of the best books I have read this year. Kerry Fisher has a great style of writing and makes the characters very 3 dimensional and believable. The subject matter is a sensitive one and in previous generations very taboo. I felt the book did it justice. The story flowed nicely and wasn't hard going at all, although very emotional in places, I found myself rooting for the characters and hoping that it worked out for the best in the end. Books are always good when you find yourself thinking about it after reading. I have a feeling this book will stay with me for a long time!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-23 01:07
Review: Murder Game (Detective Ruby Preston #3) by Caroline Mitchell
Murder Game: A gripping serial killer thriller you won't be able to put down (Detective Ruby Preston Crime Thriller Series Book 3) - Caroline Mitchell

Published by: Bookouture (31st October 2017)

 

ISBN: 9781786811622

 

Source: NetGalley

 

Rating: 5*

 

Synopsis:

A killer is playing a twisted game of life or death with his victims. After he captures them, a countdown begins. He marks the time by sending clues to the whereabouts of the women he has taken in three disturbing images: alive, tortured, dead. 

In a race against the clock, East London Detective Ruby Preston must play the killer’s terrifying murder game and decipher the clues before more women die. 

But this isn’t the first time the police have seen such a sickening crime. The notorious Lonely Hearts Killer, Mason Gatley, was put behind bars ten years ago for murdering six women in exactly the same chilling way. Desperate for more information, Ruby asks her gangster boyfriend, Nathan Crosby, to set up a dangerous meeting to allow her to see into the twisted mind of a murderer.

But the closer Ruby grows to the dark and charming Mason Gatley, the more worried her team becomes. Is he really helping her catch the killer? Or is he lining her up to be his next victim?

 

Review:

Wow! Every time I finish one of Caroline Mitchell's books I'm aware that I've spent the most part on the edge of my seat, mouth hanging open in shock and my heart hammering away! This was a real page turner with such a captivating plot. You can't help but like the fantastic Ruby Preston, who I absolutely ADORE. She's intelligently written and utterly captivating. I really like how her relationships with Nathan and daughter Cathy are interwoven with the case. It gives such a personal perspective in contrast to the professional side of Ruby and makes for a superbly well rounded character.

 

The case is shocking yet fascinating, like the scene of a car crash. The author is an expert at those twists and turns we just don't see coming...and there are plenty here. The story is intricate, dark and gripping, with great attention to detail. I was more than a little annoyed when life interrupted my reading time (much too often!) and I'm now eagerly awaiting my next fix of Detective Ruby Preston! Thanks to Bookouture for providing an ARC via NetGalley in return for my honest review.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-22 17:32
A Room Full of Killers by Michael Wood
A Room Full of Killers: A gripping crime thriller with twists you won’t see coming (DCI Matilda Darke Series, Book 3) - Michael Wood

The third book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder…

Feared by the people of Sheffield, Starling House is home to some of Britain’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison. Now the building’s latest arrival, Ryan Asher, has been found brutally murdered – stabbed twelve times, left in a pool of blood.

When DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, they uncover the secrets of a house tainted by evil. Kate Moloney, the prison’s manager, is falling apart, the security system has been sabotaged, and neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

There’s only one person Matilda believes is innocent, and he’s facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate. And find a murderer in a house full of killers…

 
**********
 

I thought before I read this book that I was quite hardened when it came to crime novel that I could deal with quite a lot (except harming of animals and children), but there were really tough parts in this book that was hard for me to get through and that were the chapters that were the POV of the children, the murderers.

A Room Full of Killers is a dark and tragic book that I devoured. It's engrossing, but at the same time is it not an easy book to get through. DCI Matilda Darke has a lot on her plate, with the release of a book concerning a kidnap case that she was in charge of that went wrong. Also, she is still not completely over her husband's death 18 months earlier. And, now this case at the Starling House. A teenager is dead, and who could have done it? The question of why someone murdered him is perhaps not hard to understand since Ryan Asher is a convicted murderer, but someone got him out of a locked room. Matilda then meets one of the inmates, Thomas, and Matilda is convinced that the young boy is innocent of the crime he is said to have done. Now she wants to find Ryan's murdered and at the same time is she trying to get Thomas free.

I found the book thrilling and intense and the last part of the book had some really great twist to the story. I was a bit surprised on how Matilda could believe someone to be innocent by just looking at him. I mean quite literary just instantly believe his innocent without knowing much about the case. I'm not a police, but appearance can be deceiving, but I guess I much more cynical. Still, it added drama to the story. The side story with the kidnap case was also interesting and I'm really curious to see the impact it will have in the next book. If the kidnapping will be solved. I'm also quite eager to get the two previous books to read!

A Room Full of Killers is an excellent thriller. The characters are well-developed and interesting to follow and the case is interesting and I love the ending!

 
I want to thank the publisher for providing me with a free copy through NetGalley for an honest review! 
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?