logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: gripping
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-05-22 06:40
DARK CRIMES a gripping detective thriller full of suspense - Michael Hambling

A woman found dead on a footpath in a Dorset coastal town is the first case for a new DCI - Sophie Allen. I love the setting (Swanage) plus the other familiar places in Dorset, so I would read other stories for that reason alone. I liked the team and the way they worked together to solve the crime but although the villain did horrible things to the victims didn't really come across as frightening or menacing which is a pity and when arrested it was an anticlimax which left me thinking "is that it?" as the character did or said very little afterwards. A promising start and I shall look forward to meeting DCI Allen again!

Like Reblog Comment
text 2017-05-16 13:59
good shorts
HIGH PROFILE: gripping short stories - BUD CRAIG

Up to twenty short stories of varying length by crime writer Bud Craig. Some of these stories are quite unusual and leftfield, some of them are real gems often with a nice little twist that you didn't expect. Nice if you are short of time and want a quick distraction.

Like Reblog Comment
text 2017-05-08 08:00
Stalker on the Fens by Joy Ellis
STALKER ON THE FENS a gripping crime thr... STALKER ON THE FENS a gripping crime thriller full of twists - JOY ELLIS Stalker on the Fens by Joy Ellis is a mystery/thriller that is filled with twists and turns. I gave it five stars because it kept my full attention from start to finish and was an enjoyable suspense-filled story. DI Nikki Galena and Joseph Easter are back attempting to protect their friend Helen Brooks. Can they find the stalker before she's killed? "She was taller than Nikki by almost a foot, an aging Amazon. Even if Dr. Chambers was pushing sixty, she was exactly the sort of person she would want with her when she interviewed Oliver Kirton. She exuded strength, but not in the physical sense. What flowed from the doctor was the fortitude of a wise woman or high priestess." The author has come up with another winning book. I received a complimentary Kindle copy from Joffe Books and NetGalley. That did not change my opinion for this review. Link to purchase: https://www.amazon.com/STALKER-gripping-crime-thriller-twists-ebook/dp/B01M6Z0YPZ
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-26 18:13
The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist - Barbara Copperthwaite

I really, really liked this book. However, I did have a few issues with it. Melanie, the mother, drove me crazy when she would go to the police on every little hint of something that happened with her daughter. Or, when she would go to the townspeople specifically to accuse them. I understood her frustration. It was a small town. Things don't happen there that someone doesn't know anything about. Also, my stomach kind of turned when I suspected Melanie's new friend had something to do with Beth's disappearance. The thought that she is riding around with him?

All of that put aside, the book is so good that you can overlook this crazy woman who berates most of the town insinuating they know something about her missing daughter.

And the ending, definitely classic and I even did a major fist pump after reading it.

A great read that I just could not put down as there were so many suspects and so many clues, I was so perplexed, I just had to know!

Huge thanks to Bookouture and Net Galley for approving and allowing me to read and review this thriller.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-04-23 08:00
Blog Tour for Lie To Me by Jess Ryder: My Review
Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist - Jess Ryder

How can you tell the truth... if all you've ever known is a lie?

Three minutes. That’s all it takes for Meredith’s entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother who abandoned her.

Meredith can’t believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera? 

The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?

To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she’s not the only one looking…

A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.

 

My Review:

Lie to Me is a tale told from three different perspectives, with the narrator of each chapter named to avoid any possible confusion. As Meredith tries to uncover more about her mother Becca, following her discovery of the video tape in the present time; we also hear  from Cara, the Darkwater Pool murder victim from thirty years ago. We also hear from Christopher Jay, who was Cara's boyfriend at the time of her murder. All this information throws up threads linking the characters together and twists here and there. It was unusual to have the perspective of a murder victim, and I found it interesting getting to know her and find out more about her life and what happened leading up to her death.

 

There are more than a couple of red herrings here and there and a few twists, but among all the death and lies, Meredith's relationship with her lovely father Graeme shines through. It's a welcome relief! The appearance of the fabulous Isobel is great too. I enjoyed the second half of the book much more and it became much harder to put down. For a debut, this is a very readable novel and one I'd recommend to my fellow crime readers. I'm looking forward to seeing what Jess Ryder comes up with next!

 

Special thanks to Bookouture, Jess Ryder and Netgalley for providing an ARC in return for my unbiased review.

 

Lie To Me - Buy it here:-

UK 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?