logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Bone Witch - Rin Chupeco
The Bone Witch
by: (author)
3.47 75
In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price... "Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything... show more
In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...

"Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living."

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.
In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.

"Memoirs of a Geisha" meets "The Name of the Wind" in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9781492635826 (1492635820)
Pages no: 400
Edition language: English
Series: The Bone Witch (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
99 problems, and a book ain't one
99 problems, and a book ain't one rated it
2.5 THE BONE WITCH BY: RIN CHUPECO
It is so hard to say I wasn't at least slightly disappointed in this book. And who knows, maybe that is my own fault. This premise had such sweet sweet promise. My expectations were high. And I have read previous books by Rin Chupeco before and really enjoyed them. I wouldn't go as far as to say I d...
Obsidian Blue
Obsidian Blue rated it
1.0 Crouching Asha, Fighting Bone Witch (Not Really)
This freaking book. Just to get this out of the way, this was not a good book. As many reviewers at Booklikes noted, this YA fantasy novel hit every trope that many of us readers are tired of reading. Main character is the best (insert name of thing) ever. There is purple prose galore. World...
The Caffeinated Diva reads...
The Caffeinated Diva reads... rated it
5.0 The Bone Witch
The Bone Witch is a beautiful book, telling the story of Tea as she discovers that she is an asha, one with very rare abilities. The writing is lyrical and descriptive, allowing you to see the world through Tea's eyes. It is written in two alternating points of view and the voices are very differe...
The Bent Bookworm
The Bent Bookworm rated it
0.0 The Bone Witch
The writing is beautiful. The world building is superb. And that alone is why I'm not rating this (usually a DNF gets a 1-star from me). I think I just am not in the mood for a slow-paced novel right now. I've been reading it for over a MONTH. This is unheard of. I whiz through books. I would pick i...
debbiekrenzer
debbiekrenzer rated it
A fantasy book set in a fantasy land with many asha's who all have different skills. Tea is one who has VERY different and rare skills. She is able to do things that a lot of asha's are not able to do. She is taken from her homeland to learn how to use her skills when she is just 14 years old. This ...
Other editions (1)
Books by Rin Chupeco
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?