logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Cold Dish - Craig Johnson
The Cold Dish
by: (author)
4.05 245
Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, the first in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert... show more
Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, the first in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.  With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780143036425 (0143036424)
Publisher: Penguin
Pages no: 400
Edition language: English
Series: Walt Longmire (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Dantastic Book Reviews
Dantastic Book Reviews rated it
3.5 The Cold Dish
Two years ago, four boys were put on trial for raping a Cheyenne girl. When one of them winds up dead, sheriff Walt Longmire finds himself in the middle of murder investigation. Plenty of people had cause for wanting Cody Prichard dead but who had the guts to do the deed? And are his three compadres...
susanvoss18
susanvoss18 rated it
4.0 The Cold Dish by Craig Johnson
Set in Absaroka County, Wyoming, Sheriff Walt Longmire is having to deal with a dead body. He rather be drinking. Before long, another body turns up. Four years before, 4 boys were given a suspended sentence for rape of a mentally handicapped Cheyenne girl. Since two of them have turned up dead in a...
Reading Through The World
Reading Through The World rated it
4.0 The Cold Dish
I might have found a new favorite mystery series! So glad I read this.Close your eyes and picture with me, if you will. Small town in Wyoming. Trucks. Pancake breakfasts. Rifles and shotguns. Mountains. Snow. Log cabins. Politics. And a lot of interesting characters. Welcome to Absaroka C...
book reviews forevermore
book reviews forevermore rated it
4.5 Delicious
I knew in the first four pages that I was going to enjoy this book. It begins with Sheriff Walt Longmire of Absaroka County, Wyoming, sitting in his office, watching the geese fly south. Ruby, dispatcher/receptionist, interrupts his musings to tell him he has a call from Bob Barnes, who wants to...
The Symmetrical Bookworm
The Symmetrical Bookworm rated it
4.0
I put this book on my "books that were made into movies" shelf, but it was actually made into the TV show Longmire, which I LOVE. It's currently in its third season and it's on A&E. So, five stars for the show.For The Cold Dish? It definitely wasn't a disappointment, but wasn't quite as good as the ...
Other editions (14)
Books by Craig Johnson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?