logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Cuckoo's Calling - Robert Galbraith
The Cuckoo's Calling
by: (author)
3.56 310
When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and... show more
When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781408703991 (1408703998)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Pages no: 464
Edition language: English
Series: Cormoran Strike (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Sailing in a Sea of Words
Sailing in a Sea of Words rated it
3.0 Book Review: The Cuckoo's Calling
Book: The Cuckoo’s Calling Author: Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling Genre: Fiction/Mystery Summary: After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to just one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just b...
The Bent Bookworm
The Bent Bookworm rated it
4.0 The Cuckoo's Calling
Public Service Announcement: Robert Galbraith = J.K. Rowling, of Harry Potter fame and the almost-singlehanded ensurer of the continuation of the love of reading in the Millennial Generation. Pretty sure most people know that already but just in case, I wanted to put it out there. Knowing that reall...
Line Bookaholic
Line Bookaholic rated it
4.0 The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith
#1 Cormoran Strike Ok so as you can see it took me more than a month to read it. At first I was not enjoying it so much, mystery is really not my cup of tea. But I decided to give it a try because it's J.K. Rowling and every time I read a mystery (let's be honest it happens one time a year) I end ...
Book Haunt
Book Haunt rated it
4.0 The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith
The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith introduces us to Cormoran Strike, who was a military police investigator until he was injured in Afghanistan. He has just broken up with his fiance and the his new foray into the opening of his own detective agency isn't going so swell. Both Cormoran and th...
Chris' Fish Place
Chris' Fish Place rated it
3.5 You know, Rowling is a far better adult author
The only reason I started this series (I have #2 on audio) is because I thought Causal Vacancy was such a good novel. I can understand why Rowling wanted to keep her authorship of this series a secret. I mean, there is the whole genre thing, it isn't a novel of society the same way Vacancy is - t...
Other editions (18)
Books by Robert Galbraith
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?