logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Cuckoo's Calling - Robert Galbraith
The Cuckoo's Calling
by: (author)
3.63 345
When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and... show more
When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781408703991 (1408703998)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Pages no: 464
Edition language: English
Series: Cormoran Strike (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
runner
runner rated it
5.0 Strike 1
This is the first of the Cormoran Strike novels written by JK Rowling under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. The story revolves around a beautiful troubled model Lula Landry who one cold snowy winters night falls from the balcony of her penthouse London flat. Was it suicide or was she pushed? Her br...
Themis-Athena's Garden of Books
Themis-Athena's Garden of Books rated it
4.0 J.K. Rowling Does "Mystery"
... and really, is there anything she can't write? This may not be the most ingenious of plots (supermodel with "issues" falls to her death from the balcony of her high rise apartment; after the police have declared her death a probable suicide and closed the case, her brother shows up at the offi...
XOX
XOX rated it
4.5 Strike and Robin investigating a suicide
My latest load of books. In the attempt to get a VIP card from a local bookstore, a brand from Taiwan, I have to buy a lot. So I tried and tried to find enough books for me to buy in order to become member. This is in the pile. The surprise is how readable this is. I read the latest one Car...
Darth Pony
Darth Pony rated it
3.5 The Cuckoo's Calling
I don’t always feel the need to write detailed reviews of books that have already been reviewed up the wazoo. This is one of those times, so I’m just going to jot down some impressions I want to remember. If Galbraith had never been outed as JK Rowling, I totally would have believed this book was ...
Hol
Hol rated it
4.0 The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith
The Cuckoo’s Calling is another book that’s been on my tbr for a really long time, but I’m not big on the genre so kept on passing it up. It’s also written by J.K. Rowling (who goes under a pen name here) and I was a bit nervous about reading something written by her that isn’t Harry Potter. But whe...
Other editions (23)
Books by Robert Galbraith
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?