logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Family Trade - Charles Stross
The Family Trade
by: (author)
2.94 175
A bold fantasy in the tradition of Roger Zelazny's Chronicles of Amber, The Merchant Princes is a sweeping new series from the hottest new writer in science fiction!Miriam Beckstein is happy in her life. She's a successful reporter for a hi-tech magazine in Boston, making good money doing what... show more
A bold fantasy in the tradition of Roger Zelazny's Chronicles of Amber, The Merchant Princes is a sweeping new series from the hottest new writer in science fiction!Miriam Beckstein is happy in her life. She's a successful reporter for a hi-tech magazine in Boston, making good money doing what she loves. When her researcher brings her iron-clad evidence of a money-laundering scheme, Miriam thinks she's found the story of the year. But when she takes it to her editor, she's fired on the spot and gets a death threat from the criminals she has uncovered.Before the day is over, she's received a locket left by the mother she never knew-the mother who was murdered when she was an infant. Within is a knotwork pattern, which has a hypnotic effect on her. Before she knows it, she's transported herself to a parallel Earth, a world where knights on horseback chase their prey with automatic weapons, and where world-skipping assassins lurk just on the other side of reality - a world where her true family runs things.The six families of the Clan rule the kingdom of Gruinmarkt from behind the scenes, a mixture of nobility and criminal conspirators whose power to walk between the worlds makes them rich in both. Braids of family loyalty and intermarriage provide a fragile guarantee of peace, but a recently-ended civil war has left the families shaken and suspicious.Taken in by her mother's people, she becomes the star of the story of the century-as Cinderella without a fairy godmother. As her mother's heir, Miriam is hailed as the prodigal countess Helge Thorold-Hjorth, and feted and feasted. Caught up in schemes and plots centuries in the making, Miriam is surrounded by unlikely allies, forbidden loves, lethal contraband, and, most dangerous of all, her family. Her unexpected return will supercede the claims of other clan members to her mother's fortune and power, and whoever killed her mother will be happy to see her dead, too.Behind all this lie deeper secrets still, which threaten everyone and everything she has ever known. Patterns of deception and interlocking lies, as intricate as the knotwork between the universes. But Miriam is no one's pawn, and is determined to conquer her new home on her own terms.Blending the creativity and humor of Roger Zelazny, the adventure of H. Beam Piper and Philip Jose Farmer, and the rigor and scope of a science-fiction writer on the grandest scale, Charles Stross has set a new standard for fantasy epics.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780765348210 (0765348217)
Publisher: Tor
Pages no: 308
Edition language: English
Series: The Merchant Princes (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Tannat
Tannat rated it
I might have given this book a 2-star rating if it had managed to have its own story arc (instead of just being an installment in the series), but it really can't stand on its own. All it contains are an introduction to the world and some incidents. Then the book ends, and apparently we're suppose...
Libromancer's Apprentice
Libromancer's Apprentice rated it
3.0 differen than all of stross' other series/books
i think this suffered from my expectations of a charles stross book. took me forever to get through because i kept being distracted by other books (including books by stross that i absolutely love).
Wyvernfriend Reads
Wyvernfriend Reads rated it
3.0 The Family Trade (Merchant Princes)
Miriam Beckstein works as a journalist and she's found evidence of money laundering, however instead of being a good thing it costs her her job. Then she receives a locket that she had when she was orphaned. Suddenly she finds herself in another world and she's part of the family who run things. ...
meganbaxter
meganbaxter rated it
This was just okay. Oddly, it had exactly the opposite problem as the last (and only other, so far) Charles Stross novel I've read so far. Neither are enough to put me off reading more. When I read Singularity Sky, I found the writing very dense, and was often at sea, with no real idea what was goin...
wealhtheow
wealhtheow rated it
Miriam Beckstein discovers an old locket among her birth mother's effects, and realizes that by gazing at it she can transport herself to a parallel world. Physically, the worlds are nearly identical, but her world has developed technologically far beyond the parallel world. Her long lost biologic...
Other editions (8)
Books by Charles Stross
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?