logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Girls: A Novel - Emma Cline
The Girls: A Novel
by: (author)
3.25 200
An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.   Northern California, during the... show more
An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.   Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.   Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.Advance praise for The Girls  “The Girls is a brilliant and intensely consuming novel—imposing not just for a writer so young, but for any writer, any time.”—Richard Ford  “Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture’s fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind.”—Lena Dunham “Emma Cline’s first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction.”—Jennifer Egan   “I don’t know which is more amazing, Emma Cline’s understanding of human beings or her mastery of language.”—Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780812998603 (081299860X)
ASIN: 081299860X
Publisher: Random House
Pages no: 368
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Book Haunt
Book Haunt rated it
3.0 The Girls by Emma Cline
“Poor girls. The world fattens them on the promise of love. How badly they need it, and how little most of them will ever get.” Summary: Evie Boyd is now in her fifties as she reflects back on her time as a 14 year old living in late ‘60s Northern California. As with most 14 year old girls, Evie i...
Ellen Allen Writes
Ellen Allen Writes rated it
0.0 The Girls; superb teen angst with a splash of murder
I first came across author Emma Cline in the Paris Review of Books in summer 2013 when I found her story Marion. The opening had me hooked; "Cars the color of melons and tangerines sizzled in cul-de-sac driveways. Dogs lay belly-up and heaving in the shade. It was cooler in the hills, where Marion...
Obsidian Blue
Obsidian Blue rated it
3.0 The Girls: A Novel
Please note that I gave this book 2.5 stars and rounded it up to 3 stars on Goodreads.This year I seem to be doing badly with new releases that get a lot of critical acclaim. I found myself bored and restless while reading Emma Cline's "The Girls." This was Cline's take on the Manson murders with de...
Words, Words, Words
Words, Words, Words rated it
4.0 'The Girls' by Emma Cline
First thing you want to know is probably about the cult, and why wouldn't you? It's dramatic and different and the kind of thing that sucks all the air out of a room. It's the hook, it's what it said in the newspaper, it says it right there on the book jacket! But pretty quickly in reading The Girls...
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents rated it
4.0 The Girls: A Novel
I can see how many won't like this book, but I found it interesting. It sort of rambles and bit and talks around what happened instead of about it as much. It's more inside the lead's head than showing these horrible facts that many may be looking to find in a story of a cult that commits murder. ...
Books by Emma Cline
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?