logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Grace Year - Kim Liggett
The Grace Year
by: (author)
A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power. “A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute page-turner. Liggett’s deeply suspenseful book brilliantly explores the high cost of a misogynistic world that denies women power and does it with a... show more
A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

“A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute page-turner. Liggett’s deeply suspenseful book brilliantly explores the high cost of a misogynistic world that denies women power and does it with a heart-in-your-throat, action-driven story that’s equal parts horror-laden fairy tale, survival story, romance, and resistance manifesto. I couldn’t stop reading.” – Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author

No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.

Girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive.

Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life—a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for their chance to grab one of the girls in order to make their fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other.

With sharp prose and gritty realism, The Grace Year examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls, the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they make in-between.
show less
Format: audiobook
ISBN: 9781250241245
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Minutes: 702
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Elentarri's Book Blog
Elentarri's Book Blog rated it
3.0 The Grace Year by Kim Liggett
TITLE: The Grace Year AUTHOR: Kim Liggett ___________________________ DESCRIPTION: "No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.In Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a power...
Mike Finn
Mike Finn rated it
5.0 'The Grace Year' by Kim Liggett - Highly Recommended
One of the best books I've read this year. A dystopian novel that manages to be both a deeply thought-through vivisection of what patriarchies do to women to keep them powerless and an action-packed, character-driven thriller filled with intense emotions. 'The Grace Year' is a high impact 'I...
Joelle's Bibliofile
Joelle's Bibliofile rated it
3.5 Dystopic YA with Adult Appeal
The Grace Year is aptly introduced with quotes from The Handmaids Tale (Margaret Atwood) and Lord of the Flies (William Golding), two classic works that obviously acted as strong inspiration for Kim Liggett’s new novel. Although marketed as a YA title, The Grace Year would also appeal to adults who...
Audiobooking With Leah
Audiobooking With Leah rated it
5.0 All the STARS for The Grace Year by Kim Liggett
FEATURING⇢ Dystopian Setting/Alternate WorldSociety Where Men Have the PowerOppression Of WomenHorror-if-icDeath, Lies, & BetrayalsSplash of RomanceWomen Supporting WomenStand-Alone LINK TO SYNOPSIS (AUTHOR'S WEBSITE) MY RATING⇢ 5+ STARS | GRADE A++ MY THOUGHTS⇢ Wow! This book... Thi...
Yzabel
Yzabel rated it
2.0 The Grace Year
[I received a copy through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.]A strong premise that definitely caught my interest (what’s not to like about a female-driven version of “Lord of the Flies”, so to speak?), but whose execution unfortunately didn’t work for me.The story starts with a typical “d...
Other editions (2)
Books by Kim Liggett
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?