logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Grace Year - Kim Liggett
The Grace Year
by: (author)
3.88 40
A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power. “A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute page-turner. Liggett’s deeply suspenseful book brilliantly explores the high cost of a misogynistic world that denies women power and does it with a... show more
A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

“A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute page-turner. Liggett’s deeply suspenseful book brilliantly explores the high cost of a misogynistic world that denies women power and does it with a heart-in-your-throat, action-driven story that’s equal parts horror-laden fairy tale, survival story, romance, and resistance manifesto. I couldn’t stop reading.” – Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author

No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.

Girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive.

Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life—a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for their chance to grab one of the girls in order to make their fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other.

With sharp prose and gritty realism, The Grace Year examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls, the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they make in-between.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781250145444 (1250145449)
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Pages no: 416
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
 Leah's Bookish Obsession
Leah's Bookish Obsession rated it
5.0 All the STARS for The Grace Year by Kim Liggett
FEATURING⇢ Dystopian Setting/Alternate WorldSociety Where Men Have the PowerOppression Of WomenHorror-if-icDeath, Lies, & BetrayalsSplash of RomanceWomen Supporting WomenStand-Alone LINK TO SYNOPSIS (AUTHOR'S WEBSITE) MY RATING⇢ 5+ STARS | GRADE A++ MY THOUGHTS⇢ Wow! This book... Thi...
Yzabel
Yzabel rated it
2.0 The Grace Year
[I received a copy through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.]A strong premise that definitely caught my interest (what’s not to like about a female-driven version of “Lord of the Flies”, so to speak?), but whose execution unfortunately didn’t work for me.The story starts with a typical “d...
As the page turns..
As the page turns.. rated it
3.5 The Grace Year
White ribbons for the young girls, red for the grace year girls, and black for the wives. Innocence. Blood. Death.❞ The Grace Year has gotten already a lot of hype. Pitched as a combination of two very popular books you can easily see why. Heck, this is why I requested an ARC in the first place. ...
Lucy Goodfellow Reviews
Lucy Goodfellow Reviews rated it
2.5 The Grace Year
I was sent this ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.For a book that's 416 pages, it really didn’t say anything that I hadn't read before.The Grace Year is a book with a strong premise and a lacklustre execution with plotholes, poor pacing and a structure that makes it feel twice as lo...
Kat's Books
Kat's Books rated it
4.5 This brutal and harrowing feminist tale will blow you away; ‘The Grace Year’ is an unforgettable ‘Handmaid’s Tale’ about young women finding their power
‘The Grace Year’ is the brutal and harrowing story about the young women of Garner County who are forced to spend their sixteenth year in a secluded encampment outside the town as they ‘embrace their magic.’ They must release their powers before they marry or go off to work in the fields or labor ho...
Other editions (1)
Books by Kim Liggett
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?