logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The House at Tyneford - Natasha Solomons
The House at Tyneford
by: (author)
3.94 125
For fans of Downton Abbey, a New York Times bestseller, the start of an affair, the end of an era Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden and Sarah Jio's The Violets of March will love this New York TImes bestselling sweeping historical novel of love and loss. It's the spring of 1938 and no... show more
For fans of Downton Abbey, a New York Times bestseller, the start of an affair, the end of an era Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden and Sarah Jio's The Violets of March will love this New York TImes bestselling sweeping historical novel of love and loss. It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When the master of Tyneford's young son, Kit, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford-and Elise-forever.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780452297647 (0452297648)
ASIN: 452297648
Publisher: Plume
Pages no: 368
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
In Love of Books and Friendship
In Love of Books and Friendship rated it
5.0 The House at Tyneford
If you liked loved Jane Eyre, Rebecca or The Little Princess this is the book for you! Very reminiscent with hints of all these favorites blend into this story. Elise Landau comes from an affluent Austrian Jewish family. Needing to leave her family to escape the increasing Nazi persecution in h...
Bettie's Books
Bettie's Books rated it
0.0
http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/306045150
Momwithabook
Momwithabook rated it
4.0 The House at Tyneford
This was one of the books that was recommended to fans of Downton Abbey. I am a fan of Downton Abbey, so I put it on my wishlist and got it from the library. Then I got it again. I have check it out three times already and it is due Monday, so made myself read it. I don't know why I kept putting ...
knittinkitties
knittinkitties rated it
3.0 The House at Tyneford
Very little substance when this book had so much potential!The rest of my review can be found here.
Thewanderingjew
Thewanderingjew rated it
4.0 The House at Tyneford: A Novel
Written with the feel of the Victorian novel, this book is much more. The tone is sometimes light, sometimes romantic and sometimes tragic, but it is never overbearing. This book is about the memories of a house and the lives of the people who dwelled within it, during a time of terrible turmoil. Al...
Books by Natasha Solomons
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?