logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Innocents - Francesca Segal
The Innocents
by: (author)
3.06 90
“It is impossible to resist this novel’s wit, grace, and charm.” —Lauren Groff, author of The Monsters of Templeton and ArcadiaA smart and slyly funny tale of love, temptation, confusion, and commitment; a triumphant and beautifully executed recasting of Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence. ... show more
“It is impossible to resist this novel’s wit, grace, and charm.” —Lauren Groff, author of The Monsters of Templeton and ArcadiaA smart and slyly funny tale of love, temptation, confusion, and commitment; a triumphant and beautifully executed recasting of Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence. Newly engaged and unthinkingly self-satisfied, twenty-eight-year-old Adam Newman is the prize catch of Temple Fortune, a small, tight-knit Jewish suburb of London. He has been dating Rachel Gilbert since they were both sixteen and now, to the relief and happiness of the entire Gilbert family, they are finally to marry. To Adam, Rachel embodies the highest values of Temple Fortune; she is innocent, conventional, and entirely secure in her community—a place in which everyone still knows the whereabouts of their nursery school classmates. Marrying Rachel will cement Adam’s role in a warm, inclusive family he loves. But as the vast machinery of the wedding gathers momentum, Adam feels the first faint touches of claustrophobia, and when Rachel’s younger cousin Ellie Schneider moves home from New York, she unsettles Adam more than he’d care to admit. Ellie—beautiful, vulnerable, and fiercely independent—offers a liberation that he hadn’t known existed: a freedom from the loving interference and frustrating parochialism of North West London. Adam finds himself questioning everything, suddenly torn between security and exhilaration, tradition and independence. What might he be missing by staying close to home? Francesca Segal was born in London and studied at Oxford and Harvard University before becoming a journalist and critic. Her work has appeared in Granta, The Guardian, and The Observer, among other publications. For three years she wrote the Debut Fiction column in The Observer and was, until recently, a features writer at Tatler. She lives in London. “Inspired by The Age of Innocence, Segal’s book is warmer, funnier, and paints a more dynamic and human portrait of a functional community that is a wonderful juxtaposition to Wharton’s cold social strata.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review “Francesca Segal’s lustrous debut may have begun as a seed shaken from Edith Wharton’s masterpiece The Age of Innocence, but only a few pages will show how completely Segal has made The Innocents her own. The setting—a vibrant if enclosed London Jewish community—is beautifully counterbalanced by Segal’s wry and compassionate voice.”—Lauren Groff, bestselling author of The Monsters of Templeton and Arcadia “The Innocents is written with wisdom and deliciously subtle wit, in the tradition of Jane Austen and Nancy Mitford. . . . This is a wonderfully readable novel: elegant, accomplished, and romantic.” —AndrÉ Aciman, author of the award-winning Out of Egypt, Call Me by Your Name, and Alibis “A moving, funny, richly drawn story. . . . Full of real pleasures and unexpected wisdom, this book sweeps you along.”—Esther Freud, author of Love Falls and Lucky Break “Writing with warmth, humor, and control, Segal brings to life an impressively large cast of characters, and makes The Innocents a generous, memorable first novel that I found hard to put down.”—Stephen McCauley, author of The Object of My Affection and Insignificant Others “I was captivated by this alluring novel. . . . Segal writes with dazzling psychological precision, conjuring up characters who are complex, engaging, and utterly real.” —Margaret Leroy, author of The Soldier’s Wife
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781401341817 (1401341810)
Publisher: Hyperion
Pages no: 288
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Kwoomac
Kwoomac rated it
Man, am I oblivious! At no point in this story did I make a connection to The Age of Innocence, on which it is based. In my defense, I read A of I a million years ago and I hardly remember what I read last week. The author moves the action from NYC to London. The characters live in a tight Jewish co...
mtw1tter
mtw1tter rated it
2.0 The Innocents
Run of the mill pre-wedding jitters which brings nothing new to the usual third party plot. It reads fine but it is really hard to be excited by it or care for the characters. They feel bloodless. M
Bonnie
Bonnie rated it
3.0 The Innocents
Thank you to Hyperion Books for my early copy of The Innocents!'The Innocents' is a story which delves into a man's pre-wedding fears and how he wavers between doing what he knows is right and what his heart is telling him. The story which is fashioned after Edith Wharton's 'The Age of Innocence' is...
The Drift Of Things
The Drift Of Things rated it
3.0 The Innocents
Don't be put off by my three-star rating. The writing is superb. Quite stunning, really, for a first novel. It's just one of those stories in which very little occurs, aside from the dailiness of life in a wealthy, tightly-knit community. This novel is modeled after Edith Wharton's The Age of Innoce...
Other editions (12)
Books by Francesca Segal
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?