logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Keeper of Lost Causes - Jussi Adler-Olsen, Lisa Hartford
The Keeper of Lost Causes
by: (author) (translator)
3.87 255
The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who... show more
The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl’s got only a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn’t dead … yet.

Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780525952480 (0525952489)
ASIN: 525952489
Publisher: Dutton Adult
Pages no: 395
Edition language: English
Category:
Mystery
Series: Afdeling Q (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Wandering through fiction
Wandering through fiction rated it
4.0 The Keeper of Lost Causes
This really ramps up the pressure as the book gets going. The alternation between the victim and the investigating team (by which I mean officer) is good and keeps the suspense up. One of the first crime novels I've read in a while where I haven't worked out the ending about half way through. Very e...
Steeped in Science, Submersed in Story
Steeped in Science, Submersed in Story rated it
4.0 The Keeper of Lost Causes
This is just a great mystery read. I love the characters and the pacing, and the story is good and makes sense. People keep comparing it to the Dragon Tattoo books, but it's not nearly so dark. The main characters have secrets, but they also inspire trust (to the extent that I trust fictional cha...
Book rêveur
Book rêveur rated it
4.0 How the Q department started.
So this is the first book in series about Q department - special Danish police department for old unsolved cases. I loved the third part, so I picked up this one. Here Carl Morck is a pain in his boss`s ass and by lucky twist of fate (read "politics") he can get him off his neck by creating a new de...
So Many Books...So Little Time!
So Many Books...So Little Time! rated it
5.0
Wow, what a story! I had figured out "who dunnit" early on but man, it was fun watching Carl and Assad, his trusty assistant, figure it all out. Definitely getting the next one in this series, very good!
JeffreyKeeten
JeffreyKeeten rated it
”She’d been lying on the floor thinking about books. That was something she often did in order not to think about the life she might have had if only she’d made different choices. When she thought about books, she could move into a whole different world. Just remembering the feeling of the dry surfa...
Books by Jussi Adler-Olsen
Books by Lisa Hartford
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?