logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Native Star - M.K. Hobson
The Native Star
by: (author)
3.63 545
In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson’s captivating take on the Wild, Wild West. The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily... show more
In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson’s captivating take on the Wild, Wild West. The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession—and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves. Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time—and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine—in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all—the magic of the human heart.
show less
Format: mass market paperback
ISBN: 9780553592658 (0553592653)
ASIN: 553592653
Publisher: Spectra
Pages no: 387
Edition language: English
Series: Veneficas Americana (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Grac's Never-ending TBR Pile of Doom
Grac's Never-ending TBR Pile of Doom rated it
2.0 The Native Star & The Hidden Goddess - M.K. Hobson
I'd read the first of these two books (The Native Star) a while back and re-read it again recently in preparation for reading the second (The Hidden Goddess) - the storyline for the second pretty much runs straight from the end of the first one. In both, the focus is on our protagonist, Emily Edwa...
Jane Cousins - AUTHOR
Jane Cousins - AUTHOR rated it
4.0 The Native Star
Story is set in 1876, our world but with a few magical additions. The story is full on action once it gets going, with the romance taking a backseat up until the last chapter or so.Clever, inventive world. Non-stop action. Great bad guys. Feisty, independent heroine. Stubborn, different kind o...
pseudolibrary
pseudolibrary rated it
4.0 The Native Star
Reminds me a little bit of Tamora Pierce's The Immortals quartet.
meganbaxter
meganbaxter rated it
Native Star is set in 19th century America, an America which is vaguely steampunky, but much more magical. Both sides in the Civil War used magic, which is presently divided into three schools: animancy (that may not be right, but it's close), traditional magic using herbs and things from the earth....
CJ the Book Peddler
CJ the Book Peddler rated it
0.0
This just didn't hold my attention. at all.
Other editions (2)
Books by M.K. Hobson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?