logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Prey of Gods - Nicky Drayden
The Prey of Gods
by: (author)
5.00 10
From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark humor. In... show more
From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark humor.

In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. And in the bustling coastal town of Port Elizabeth, the economy is booming thanks to the genetic engineering industry which has found a welcome home there. Yes—the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is, if they can survive the present challenges:

A new hallucinogenic drug sweeping the country . . .

An emerging AI uprising . . .

And an ancient demigoddess hellbent on regaining her former status by preying on the blood and sweat (but mostly blood) of every human she encounters.

It’s up to a young Zulu girl powerful enough to destroy her entire township, a queer teen plagued with the ability to control minds, a pop diva with serious daddy issues, and a politician with even more serious mommy issues to band together to ensure there’s a future left to worry about.

Fun and fantastic, Nicky Drayden takes her brilliance as a short story writer and weaves together an elaborate tale that will capture your heart . . . even as one particular demigoddess threatens to rip it out.
show less
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780062493033 (0062493035)
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Pages no: 400
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Grimlock ♥ Vision
Grimlock ♥ Vision rated it
5.0 Beautiful, hopeful, with a good dose of heartbreak
First of all: thank you to the publisher for the ARC. This hasn't changed how I feel about this book. I don't even know where to start reviewing this. The bizarre sex? The mythological pantheon that seems to have a basis in real mythology, but is cobbled together into something new and fa...
Other editions (1)
Books by Nicky Drayden
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?