logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code - Margalit Fox
The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code
by: (author)
4.07 75
In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed... show more
In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece’s Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe’s earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery.                                              Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean—the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen—to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the deipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780062228833 (0062228838)
Publisher: Ecco
Pages no: 363
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Denise
Denise rated it
4.0 The Riddle of the Labyrinth
The pull of an undeciphered ancient script comes not only from the fact that its discoverer cannot read it, but also from the knowledge that once long ago, someone could. As someone who had no previous knowledge of the discovery of Linear B and the eventual deciphering of it, this book was absolute...
Tolle Lege!.
Tolle Lege!. rated it
5.0 The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code
The author tells the story in three acts: the discovery of the tablets, the unsung heroine, Alice Kober, striving to crack the code, and the actual code cracker Michael Ventris. There's so much of human nature tied up in this story. You have the discover of the tablets, Arthur Evans, not wanting t...
SusannaG - Confessions of a Crazy Cat Lady
SusannaG - Confessions of a Crazy Cat Lady rated it
4.0 The Riddle of the Labyrinth
A very interesting book on how Linear B (one of three ancient scripts found on Crete - the other two, Minoan hieroglyphic and Linear A, remain a mystery, alas) was deciphered. Sir Arthur Evans, who discovered the ancient Minoan civilization at Knossos in 1900, gets three chapters. Alice Kober, an...
simonec
simonec rated it
4.0 The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code
According to the book synopsis, The Riddle of the labyrinth is a "mesmerising archaeological detective story, brilliantly told in all its triumphant detail". I couldn't agree more. I'm very impressed by what Margalit Fox was able to do: she wrote about a highly technical topic, making it not only un...
Sister Mary Murderous
Sister Mary Murderous rated it
3.0
A deskbound adventureHomer's Iliad and Odyssey, thought to be written in the eighth century B.C., are among the oldest written works of Western literature we know. Imagine the excitement, then, when hundreds of clay tablets were discovered on the island of Crete in 1900, and they were dated back to ...
Other editions (8)
Books by Margalit Fox
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?