logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly - Stephanie Oakes
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
by: (author)
3.90 75
With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins. The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family,... show more
With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins. The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too. Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.  
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780803740709 (0803740700)
ASIN: 803740700
Pages no: 384
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
YA Fanatic
YA Fanatic rated it
4.0 The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly Book Review
Wow. I certainly haven't read anything quite like this. The blurb says fans of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson will love The Sacred Lies of Willow Bly. But they really aren't alike, at all. Accept for in the sense that its a dark story. Minnow Bly grew up in the community under the Pastor. She has...
bird words
bird words rated it
3.0 The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
This book was good, but it wasn't as satisfying for me as I had hoped. I wanted to know more about the cult and less about Minnow's time in prison; and that makes me feel like I was reading this novel with the wrong impression or for the wrong reasons. It's not a bad book, but it wasn't what I was t...
Read All The Things! Reviews
Read All The Things! Reviews rated it
4.5 The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Seventeen-year-old Minnow is in juvenile detention and suspected of murdering the leader of the cult where she grew up. As Minnow’s backstory unravels, the truth about what really happened to the prophet becomes crazier and crazier. This story is a retelling of The Handless Maiden. This is one of ...
Christabelle2007
Christabelle2007 rated it
I've had this book on my TBR list ever since it was first announced. The concept was intriguing, and I raced through it. I enjoyed the story, but the ending felt a bit rushed and manufactured. However, I'd definitely recommend it.
Yakmum
Yakmum rated it
4.0 The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
ya/cults/realistic fiction/mysteryThis is a gritty look at religious cults and the fanatical hold that they have on their members. It reinforces the power of reading and asking why. the story is told in the present and in flash backs. I was a bit diaointed with the last couple of lines.
Other editions (2)
Books by Stephanie Oakes
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?