logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B - Teresa Toten
The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
by: (author)
3.75 50
Deep, understated, and wise, this engaging YA novel, winner of the Governor General’s Award in Canada, is about more than the tough issue of teens dealing with obsessive-compulsive order. It also has romance, and a whodunit element that will keep readers guessing. Perfect for readers who love... show more
Deep, understated, and wise, this engaging YA novel, winner of the Governor General’s Award in Canada, is about more than the tough issue of teens dealing with obsessive-compulsive order. It also has romance, and a whodunit element that will keep readers guessing. Perfect for readers who love Eleanor & Park! Adam Spencer Ross is almost fifteen, and he’s got his hands full confronting the everyday problems that come with having divorced parents and a stepsibling. Add to that his obsessive-compulsive disorder and it’s just about impossible for him to imagine ever falling in love. Adam’s life changes, however, the instant he meets Robyn Plummer: he is hopelessly, desperately drawn to her. But is it possible to have a normal relationship when your life is anything but?Filled with moments of deep emotion and unexpected humor, The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B explores the complexities of living with OCD and offers the prospect of hope, happiness, and healing.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780553507867 (0553507869)
ASIN: 0553507869
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages no: 304
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
YA Fanatic
YA Fanatic rated it
4.0 The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B Book Review
This is a book about character, and it has really really good characters. Its one of those haunting books that you will remember. It discusses many teen and adult issues, like cancer, death, OCD, etc. I really loved it. The audio book is especially great to listen to. Adam is in a group for people...
JL's Bibliomania
JL's Bibliomania rated it
3.5 The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
Winner of the 2016 Schneider Family Book Award for portrayals of the disability experience in the teen category. I'm a bit surprised it was eligible since the book appears to have been first published in Canada in 2013. But I guess it snuck in since it didn't get published in the US until 2015. ...
Ma Bell's Books and stuff
Ma Bell's Books and stuff rated it
5.0 Another Great Pair of Books: Bone Gap and Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
By chance I again read two books concurrently that have lots of links one to the other. Of course this is often the case but it did enhance both of them for me. When I finished them both on the same day I was sad to let the characters go. In both books the main character is a very likeable teenage b...
My Never Ending List
My Never Ending List rated it
3.5 The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
They consist of a group of superheroes, and one Snooki, leaving their tangled selves at the door; they seemed so much alike yet they were very different. The stories that they shared together bonded these teens as they strived to connect to the world but their disorder made them unique as they saw t...
NerdyBirdie
NerdyBirdie rated it
3.5 The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten
Hey guys! I hope you all are having a great day, and this is my review to Teresa Toten's The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B. When Adam meets Robyn at a support group for kids coping with obsessive-compulsive disorder, he is drawn to her almost before he can take a breath. He's determined to protect an...
Other editions (1)
Books by Teresa Toten
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?