logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home - Dan Ariely
The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home
by: (author)
3.53 95
“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably... show more
“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780061995033 (0061995037)
ASIN: 61995037
Publisher: Harper
Pages no: 334
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
nouveau
nouveau rated it
3.0 The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home
not horrible, but Freakonomics and Black Swan, even Outliers are better. re-uses a lot of tired stories to express viewpoints that are contentious, even dubious.almost New York Times level quality, but definitely not horrible or unbearable
halfmanhalfbook
halfmanhalfbook rated it
Not as good as predictable irrationalbut interesting reading none the less
thomcat
thomcat rated it
A relatively quick read, this book suggests that irrationality isn't bad per se, it just needs to be accounted for and utilized in the right situations. I guess I tend to fall more on the Spock side of the equation... a good book to read, and an excellent counterpart to predictably irrational.
davdittrich read
davdittrich read rated it
4.0 The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home
http://pro-libertate.net/20110203/152-upside-irrationality
megancsparks
megancsparks rated it
I was going to write a long review of this, but David's hit it right on the head. It's an interesting book but it suffers from too much padding and too many references back to Predictably Irrational: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions.
Other editions (25)
Books by Dan Ariely
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?