logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia - C.W. Gortner
The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia
by: (author)
4.90 25
For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and... show more
For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty’s ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival?   With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father’s elevation are the new pope’s illegitimate children—his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter Lucrezia—each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family’s fortunes. But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment’s notice as Italy’s ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia’s father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood.   Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, The Vatican Princess is the first novel to describe Lucrezia’s coming-of-age in her own voice, resulting in a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same, and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse.   Praise for C. W. Gortner   The Queen’s Vow   “A masterwork by a skilled crafstman . . . Make a vow to read this book.”—New York Journal of Books   “A beautifully crafted piece of historical fiction . . . Gortner’s vivid details blend with his deeply intensive research to re-create Isabella and Castile in a way that the reader will find compelling and immersive, bringing not just the Queen but the whole nation to life.”—RT Book Reviews   The Confessions of Catherine de Medici   “Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory fans will devour this smashing fictional biography.”—Booklist   “Highly recommended . . . fascinating.”—Historical Novels Review   The Last Queen   “An absorbing account of one of history’s most fascinating women.”—Donna Woolfolk Cross, author of Pope Joan   “Emotional and political tensions soar . . . Disturbing royal secrets and court manipulations wickedly twist this enthralling story, brilliantly told.”—Publishers Weekly
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9780345533975 (0345533976)
ASIN: 0345533976
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Pages no: 400
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Jasmyn's Reviews
Jasmyn's Reviews rated it
5.0 The Vatican Princess by C.W. Gortner
Many of you may have watched the show The Borgias on TV (I forget what channel). This is not that show. While it may share some characters and events, the way their are treated is very different. Which one is more accurate? I have no idea. I don't think anyone really does. Everything the Borgias did...
sarahsar
sarahsar rated it
The Borgias are one of history’s most notorious families. Rodrigo Borgia, eventually the corrupt Pope Alexander VI, was the patriarch, father of several illegitimate children including sons Giovanni (Juan) and Cesare, whose sibling rivalry may have turned murderous. His daughter Lucrezia was known f...
Sharon E. Cathcart
Sharon E. Cathcart rated it
5.0
I've been a fan of C.W. Gortner's work since reading "The Last Queen," and thus was delighted at the opportunity to review "The Vatican Princess." In this book, Gortner tells the tale of the oft-maligned Lucrezia Borgia, daughter of Pope Alexander VI. He shows us her loves and miseries, growing up...
Other editions (1)
Books by C.W. Gortner
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?