logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Waking Dark - Robin Wasserman
The Waking Dark
by: (author)
3.60 180
“Suspense, chills, gasps—all that and a gem-like writing style that will make you shiver with beauty and horror. A book you won’t soon forget.” —Cassandra Clare, author of the bestselling Mortal Instruments series and Infernal Devices trilogyThey called it the killing day. Twelve people dead, all... show more
“Suspense, chills, gasps—all that and a gem-like writing style that will make you shiver with beauty and horror. A book you won’t soon forget.” —Cassandra Clare, author of the bestselling Mortal Instruments series and Infernal Devices trilogyThey called it the killing day. Twelve people dead, all in the space of a few hours. Five murderers: neighbors, relatives, friends. All of them so normal. All of them seemingly harmless. All of them now dead by their own hand . . . except one. And that one has no answers to offer the shattered town. She doesn't even know why she killed—or whether she'll do it again. Something is waking in the sleepy town of Oleander's, Kansas—something dark and hungry that lives in the flat earth and the open sky, in the vengeful hearts of upstanding citizens. As the town begins its descent into blood and madness, five survivors of the killing day are the only ones who can stop Oleander from destroying itself. Jule, the outsider at war with the world; West, the golden boy at war with himself; Daniel, desperate for a different life; Cass, who's not sure she deserves a life at all; and Ellie, who believes in sacrifice, fate, and in evil. Ellie, who always goes too far. They have nothing in common. They have nothing left to lose. And they have no way out. Which means they have no choice but to stand and fight, to face the darkness in their town—and in themselves. A taut, haunting read, The Waking Dark will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn and Rick Yancey.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780375868771 (0375868771)
ASIN: 0375868771
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages no: 464
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
YA Fanatic
YA Fanatic rated it
4.0 The Waking Dark Book Review
Like reading Dean Koontz or Steven King? Robin Wasserman's, The Waking Dark, is 100% your type of book. It's dark, it's gritty, violent, and graphic. I'm shocked it isn't talked about more just because of the material within. The killing night happens. Killing twelve people in one day in small tow...
Jessica (HDB)
Jessica (HDB) rated it
5.0 The Waking Dark
Holy YA Batman. Seriously. The Waking Dark absolutely blew me away. Those of you who were following along with me as I read might have noticed it took me a while to finish. Trust me when I say that it's not because this book isn't fantastic, because it absolutely is. I'll explain more below, but let...
The Aussie Zombie
The Aussie Zombie rated it
4.0 The Waking Dark
When I first saw reviews of The Waking Dark popping up, I knew I had to get my hands on a copy. Horror is (perhaps obviously) one of my favourite genres, and I like them dark, spooky and intense.The Waking Dark jumps straight into the story - jumping through the stories of the teens on the 'killing...
Chapter by Chapter
Chapter by Chapter rated it
4.0 The Waking Dark by Robin Wasserman
When I found out I would get to read The Waking Dark by author Robin Wasserman I was excited. And I mean really excited. I only read the description of the novel and that was all it took for me to be ready to kill somebody if it meant getting to experience this book. S I admit, I didnot expect The W...
In Libris Veritas
In Libris Veritas rated it
4.5 The Waking Dark by Robin Wasserman
Source: Knopf Books/Netgalley – I received this in exchange for an honest review. I received no compensation. Publisher: Knopf Books Series: - Edition: eARC, 464 pages Genre: Young Adult Horror Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository* *I receive a small monetary kickback from Amazon purc...
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?