logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Widow - Fiona Barton
The Widow
by: (author)
3.55 205
For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when... show more
For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman.

One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen...   But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore.   There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.  

Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.   The truth—that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9781101990261 (1101990260)
ASIN: B00Z8VT8AE
Publisher: NAL
Pages no: 368
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents
Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents rated it
3.0 The Widow
3.5 starsThis is a story about the case of a missing little girl. It's told in segments from different characters points of view, but mostly it's about a woman who's recently widowed. Some parts go back to the past and some are current as the story progresses. It takes awhile before the reader is...
Read With ME (207)
Read With ME (207) rated it
3.0 The Widow
I was extremely disappointed in this book. I was really looking forward to this read as there has been so much hype surrounding it. I've heard it referred to as the next "Gone Girl " comparing Fiona Barton to Gillian Flynn to which I was skeptical , those are big shoes to fill and GG was one of my f...
fromfirstpagetolast
fromfirstpagetolast rated it
Jean Taylor has just lost her husband Glen. Rather than being able to mourn she is soon inundated with press knocking at her door. For years earlier Glen was implicated in the disappearance of a 2 year old girl, Bella, who has never been found. The press believe that Jean really knows what went on. ...
Blood Rose Books
Blood Rose Books rated it
3.5 Fiona Barton: The Widow
In her debut novel Fiona Barton asks the questions of how well do we really know our spouse: It is a parent's worst nightmare their child being snatched from the front yard without a trace and no suspect, but someone has to have little Bella or know where she is. It's a wife's worst nightmare when ...
Thewanderingjew
Thewanderingjew rated it
5.0 Fast paced mystery without gratuitous sex and unnecessary violence! Hurray!
“The Widow is a fast paced, steadily moving mystery which held my attention so completely that I read it in one day. It has been compared to “Gone Girl”, among other mysteries, but I thought it was unique unto itself. The content of books like “Gone Girl” is sometimes almost too difficult to read in...
Other editions (5)
Books by Fiona Barton
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?