logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
This Monstrous Thing - Mackenzi Lee
This Monstrous Thing
by: (author)
4.22 45
In 1818 Geneva, men built with clockwork parts live hidden away from society, cared for only by illegal mechanics called Shadow Boys. Two years ago, Shadow Boy Alasdair Finch’s life shattered to bits.His brother, Oliver—dead.His sweetheart, Mary—gone.His chance to break free of... show more
In 1818 Geneva, men built with clockwork parts live hidden away from society, cared for only by illegal mechanics called Shadow Boys. Two years ago, Shadow Boy Alasdair Finch’s life shattered to bits.His brother, Oliver—dead.His sweetheart, Mary—gone.His chance to break free of Geneva—lost.Heart-broken and desperate, Alasdair does the unthinkable: He brings Oliver back fro
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780062382771 (0062382772)
ASIN: 62382772
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages no: 384
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Jessica (HDB)
Jessica (HDB) rated it
4.0 This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee
Fans of both Steampunk novels, and Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, are going to adore this book. I can tell you that right now. I would know, seeing as how I fit right into that category as well. While I knew this was a retelling, going in, I had no idea that there was also a Steampunk aspect attached ...
YA Anonymous
YA Anonymous rated it
I LOVED this telling of Frankenstein. Great cast of characters, fast moving and mysterious telling, all mixed with a classic tale that for me personally, is a favorite.
Yzabel
Yzabel rated it
3.0 This Monstrous Thing
[I received a copy of this novel through Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review.]Sort of a retelling of the “Frankenstein” story, based on the idea of “what if the latter had been inspired by real-life events”. In a world where clockwork (allowing to replace missing limbs in people, among other...
By Singing Light
By Singing Light rated it
0.0 This Monstrous Thing
This is also historical fantasy, set in 1818 Geneva. It’s a steampunk alternate history of the writing of Frankenstein. I wondered how well this might work for readers who either haven’t read Frankenstein or who don’t know that Mary Shelley was born Mary Godwin (although it’s eventually spelled out ...
YA Fanatic
YA Fanatic rated it
3.0 This Monstrous Thing Book Review
I didn't love this book but I did really enjoy it. I actually read a few books in between which I usually don't do but it ended up working for the pace of this book. The writing style is what I enjoyed most about This Monstrous Thing and I would probably pick something else up by this author. Ali...
Other editions (1)
Books by Mackenzi Lee
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?