logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Wife 22 - Melanie Gideon
Wife 22
by: (author)
3.68 200
For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.Maybe it was those extra five pounds I’d gained. Maybe it was because I was... show more
For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.Maybe it was those extra five pounds I’d gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.   But when the anonymous online study called “Marriage in the 21st Century” showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn’t long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).   And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.   7. Sometimes I tell him he’s snoring when he’s not snoring so he’ll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself. 61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man’s children. 67. To not want what you don’t have. What you can’t have. What you shouldn’t have. 32. That if we weren’t careful, it was possible to forget one another.   Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor’s appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.   But these days, I’m also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I’ll have to make a decision—one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I’m too busy answering questions.   As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780345527950 (034552795X)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Pages no: 400
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
bestwineforlast
bestwineforlast rated it
4.0 Wife 22
Funny and realistic
EpicFehlReader
EpicFehlReader rated it
I had high hopes for an interesting story but I wasn't super impressed with this one. The concept was a fun one but the execution came out a little dull for me. The one scene I did laugh at was the Cialis focus group (the husband in the story is in advertising). Is the whole world wondering about wh...
Lottas Buecher
Lottas Buecher rated it
5.0 ein wunderbares Buch, einfach jedem zu empfehlen!
Produktinformation"»Habe ich das tatsächlich getan? Ikea-Fleischbällchen als meine eigenen ausgegeben? Und vor unseren Freunden zugegeben, dass wir nur einmal im Monat Sex haben?« Vielleicht lag es daran, dass ich die zusätzlichen Kilos nicht mehr loswurde. Oder daran, dass ich das Alter erreicht ha...
Literary Marie's Precision Reviews
Literary Marie's Precision Reviews rated it
3.0 Wife 22
Predictable ending, but good romance story of marriage, midlife crisis, compromise and appreciating what you already have.Full review on www.literarymarie.com
Constantly Moving the Bookmark
Constantly Moving the Bookmark rated it
3.0 Wife 22
Alice Buckle is a forty-something mother of two who feels her children do not need her as much, her husband is a little boring, her job is frustrating and not what she envisioned herself doing and all her friend’s lives seem so much more exciting than her own. At a cocktail party at her husband’s w...
Other editions (13)
Books by Melanie Gideon
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?