logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Y: A Novel - Marjorie Celona
Y: A Novel
by: (author)
3.67 30
For fans of White Oleander and The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, an exquisitely rendered debut about a wise-beyond-her-years foster child searching for a home, entwined with the heartbreaking story of the mother who abandoned her.“Y. The wishbone, fork in the road, empty wine glass. The... show more
For fans of White Oleander and The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, an exquisitely rendered debut about a wise-beyond-her-years foster child searching for a home, entwined with the heartbreaking story of the mother who abandoned her.“Y. The wishbone, fork in the road, empty wine glass. The question we ask over and over. Why? My life begins at the Y…” so opens the story of Shannon, a newborn left at the doors of the local YMCA. Bounced between foster homes, Shannon endures neglect and abuse before she finally finds stability with Miranda, a single mother with a daughter of her own. But as Shannon grows, so do her questions. Who is her true family? Why would her parents abandon Shannon on the day she was born?      The answers lie in the heartrending tale of her mother, a headstrong young woman with a flawed and desperate fate, trapped in a tragic series of events that will destroy her family and test the limits of her compassion and sacrifice.      Sparkling with wit and surprisingly tender insights, Marjorie Celona’s extraordinary novel offers a deeply affecting look at the choices we make and what it means to be a family. As the story builds, present and past converge to shape a unique and lasting story of identity and inheritance. Y marks the debut of an astonishing new talent.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9781451674385 (1451674384)
ASIN: 1451674384
Publisher: Free Press
Pages no: 259
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Kristine liest
Kristine liest rated it
4.0 Berührendes Erstlingswerk
Als ich zum ersten Mal den Klappentext gelesen habe, war ich sofort berührt von der Thematik dieses Buches. Und Marjorie Celona konnte meine Erwartungen an ihren Debütroman vollkommen erfüllen. Zwei Handlungsstränge führen durch die Geschichte. Zum einen erlebt man die Suche von Shannon nach ihren W...
Mellkoh
Mellkoh rated it
This is a story about a young girl who starts life on the doorstep of the Y, abandoned by her Mother right after being born. We taken on a journey of discovery to find out why Shannon's life started at the Y.There are some squirmy bits in Shannon's life for sure. But there are also some great insi...
debnance
debnance rated it
There are times that I think it might be a good idea to have warning labels on teen books. When I was an impressionable teen (are there any other kind?) I found myself reading The Bell Jar, a book that spiraled me into a six-month-long depression. (I blame Bell Jar, in any case, for my senior year a...
lisa's reviews
lisa's reviews rated it
4.0
In the first fifty pages I thought I wouldn't like this book. It seemed to be one quick character sketch after another, but then it became something more. The writing in this book is amazing. The author is a master at subtly changing the voice of the main character as she grows older. The other ...
Cheryl's books
Cheryl's books rated it
3.0
A baby is abandoned at the Y. Why? Why do people choose the forks in the path that they do? People are so often incapable of recognising choices. They lack a perceptual awareness of their own abilities to influence their own course through their life. The novel follows the story of the abandoned...
Other editions (16)
Books by Marjorie Celona
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?