logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) - Jenny Lawson
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
by: (author)
4.31 170
Includes a new chapter! When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father and a morbidly eccentric childhood. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame-spiral that is her... show more
Includes a new chapter! When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father and a morbidly eccentric childhood. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame-spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it. In the irreverent Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson’s long-suffering husband and sweet daughter help her uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments—the ones we want to pretend never happened—are the very same moments that make us the people we are today. For every intellectual misfit who thought they were the only ones to think the things that Lawson dares to say out loud, this is a poignant and hysterical look at the dark, disturbing, yet wonderful moments of our lives. Readers Guide Inside
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780425261019 (0425261018)
ASIN: 425261018
Publisher: Penguin
Pages no: 384
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
BrokenTune
BrokenTune rated it
2.0 Let's Pretend This Never Happened
I think there’s a goat in our house,” my sister says, making no attempt to get up as she turns her head slightly to listen to the strange noises coming from down the hall. She’s wrong; I’m certain. Not because there couldn’t be a goat in the house, but because this isn’t our house anymore. It’s the ...
Book Cupidity
Book Cupidity rated it
2.5 One of those personal reviews.
Today is my birthday. I'm heading out momentarily to hit a water park with family and then we're having a large BBQ & Birthday cake celebration this evening - a combo of my b-day and Fathers Day. Being born on this day means that I have shared many a Father's Day. This has always been pretty speci...
The Nearly Reader
The Nearly Reader rated it
4.0 Let's Pretend This Never Happened
From Good Reads: For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Tim...
Dispatches from Terabithia
Dispatches from Terabithia rated it
5.0
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. She takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relatio...
Bookish Excursions
Bookish Excursions rated it
3.0 Review: Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson
This book is a mash-up of eccentric stories pulled from the author's life in which she makes fun of herself while embracing her inner crazy. There are tales about her unconventional upbringing, an immensely terrifying squirrel puppet, a pet turkey named Jenkins, zombie Jesus and other embarrassing ...
Other editions (13)
Books by Jenny Lawson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?