logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) - Jenny Lawson
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
by: (author)
5.00 5
Every teenager wants to fit in and be just like everybody else. So imagine how hard that is when your father runs a taxidermy business out of the family home, your mother runs the student cafeteria, and your sister has just been elected high school mascot, which means she walks the halls in a... show more
Every teenager wants to fit in and be just like everybody else. So imagine how hard that is when your father runs a taxidermy business out of the family home, your mother runs the student cafeteria, and your sister has just been elected high school mascot, which means she walks the halls in a giant bird costume. But as Jenny Lawson grows up, falls in love, gets engaged -- in a way that is as disastrous as it is romantic -- and starts a family of her own, she learns that life's most absurd and humiliating moments, the ones we wish we could pretend had never happened, are the very same moments that make us who we are. This is an often poignant, sometimes disturbing, but always hilarious book from a writer that dares to say your deepest and strangest thoughts out loud. Like laughter at a funeral, it is both highly irreverent and impossible to stop once you've started ...
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9781447223443 (1447223446)
Publisher: Picador Usa
Pages no: 313
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
mattries37315
mattries37315 rated it
5.0 Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
Sometimes you want to forget very embarrassing things that happen in your life and a few of those times you’ll ask your friends to pretend it didn’t happen, now think about that being the majority of your life. Jenny Lawson, aka “The Bloggess”, recounts her life from childhood through school, roman...
Tami
Tami rated it
5.0 I have to give 5 stars
It made me laugh out loud. So much so that I read out loud some parts to my husband. It was hilarious. And sad. And interesting. And unbelievable. A very good read.
Confuzzled Books
Confuzzled Books rated it
5.0 Humor We Need That Makes The World Suck Less
After having successful blog, author Jenny Lawson, wrote this memoir from parts of her already written blog and her humor filled life...or imagination. As a blogger myself I had heard about this book through other bloggers. I had never been to the bloggess aka Jenny Lawson blog before but now t...
BrokenTune
BrokenTune rated it
2.0 Let's Pretend This Never Happened
I think there’s a goat in our house,” my sister says, making no attempt to get up as she turns her head slightly to listen to the strange noises coming from down the hall. She’s wrong; I’m certain. Not because there couldn’t be a goat in the house, but because this isn’t our house anymore. It’s the ...
The Nearly Reader
The Nearly Reader rated it
4.0 Let's Pretend This Never Happened
From Good Reads: For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Tim...
Other editions (13)
Books by Jenny Lawson
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?