logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Stars
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review SPOILER ALERT! 2017-06-28 20:49
Book review :what really happened in Peru cassandra Clare
What Really Happened in Peru - Cassandra Clare,Sarah Rees Brennan

 June 27-28

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why.

One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.

Review : I loved this short story about Magnus it was a very funny story about how Magnus gets banned from Peru. Magnus meets a man and learns to play an instrument which he's very bad at playing so bad people throw things at him but then he gets dumped and gets really drunk and meets a woman who steals from the rich it was a fun story.
Quotes :
“Magnus, you were trying to flirt with your own plate."

"I'm a very open-minded sort of fellow!"

You told us to leave you in the desert, because you planned to start a new life as cactus," Catarina said, her voice flat. "Then you conjured up tiny needles and threw them at us. With pinpoint accuracy.”

Picture this," said Magnus. "Me with a little monkey friend. I could teach him tricks. I could dress him in a cunning jacket. He could look just like me! But more monkey-shaped.”

Magnus had a list of favored traits in a partner-black hair, blue eyes, honest...”

Magnus was sure that the llama stampede he witnessed was a coincidence. The llamas could not be judging him

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-06-28 18:21
Review: "Lollipop" (Candy Man, #3) by Amy Lane
Lollipop - Amy Lane

 

~ 3.5 stars ~

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review SPOILER ALERT! 2017-06-28 00:56
Book Review : Talking as fast as I can Lauren Graham
Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything in Between) - Lauren Graham,Lauren Graham

June 26-27

In her first work of nonfiction, the beloved star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood recounts her experiences on Gilmore Girls - the first and second times - and shares stories about life, love, and working in Hollywood. This collection of essays is written in the intimate, hilarious, and down-to-earth voice that made her novel, Someday, Someday, Maybe, a New York Times best seller.
"This book contains some stories from my life: the awkward growing up years, the confusing dating years, the fulfilling working years, and what it was like to be asked to play one of my favorite characters again. You probably think I'm talking about my incredible achievement as Dolly in Hello, Dolly! as a Langley High School junior, a performance my dad called 'you're so much taller than the other kids.' But no! I'm talking about Lorelai Gilmore, who, back in 2008, I wasn't sure I'd ever see again. Also included: tales of living on a houseboat, meeting guys at awards shows, and that time I was asked to be a butt model. A hint: all three made me seasick.

Review : I loved this audio cause I'm a big gilmore girls fan I love Lauren's writing and her audiobook was awesome I loved hearing about her and her getting onto Gilmore girls and her stories in acting and her family life . And it was interesting to hear about her life and I loved when she talked about Gilmore girls a year in the life I cried I highly recommend this book .

Quotes:
But life doesn’t often spell things out for you or give you what you want exactly when you want it, otherwise it wouldn’t be called life, it would be called vending machine.


“Because who wants to Fast Forward anyway? You might miss some of the good parts

 

 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-06-27 12:00
The Young Elites by Marie Lu
The Young Elites - Marie Lu

I'm not really sure why I put off reading this book for so long. I loved Marie Lu's Legend series, but I never was really interested in this book. Probably because I never read a synopsis and I thought that this was about young children in high society (think The Luxe). Yeah I don't know why either.

 

I was not expecting the level of darkness that this book has. I was under the impression that this would be a lot like every other book I'd read about with main characters that have strange powers, but it was so much better. The main character, Adelina, struggles with a darkness inside her and this is very clear from the beginning of the novel. This immediately intrigued me. Usually main characters are good and don't feed upon fear. Her character felt almost like a villain, but a villain that was on the good side, if that makes sense. I also liked that even though she had imperfections, she wasn't obsessed with being beautiful or with her missing eye.

 

I really liked Enzo and Teren as side characters because you can see how their interactions with Adeline shape her. It is very clear that her actions have consequences with others and that their actions are critical in leading her down a certain path. I liked that both sides were manipulative to a certain extent, but Teren was by far the most dark and manipulative character. There was nothing really likeable about him as a character because he's so beyond saving, but I really liked him as the villain.

 

There was a tiny bit of romance between Enzo and Adelina, but it didn't overwhelm the plot. While it did affect Adeline it didn't consume her, which I definitely loved. It also felt there was a build up to it, so it didn't really feel like insta love. I actually quite liked the couple and thought there was some chemistry between them.

 

I thought that while the story itself wasn't very unique, the characters made it something different and intriguing. I also really loved the ending because it managed to surprise me, which seems to be very hard to do these days. I will definitely be looking at getting the next book as soon as I can.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-06-27 00:31
The Hanging Tree (Peter Grant/Rivers of London #6) (Audiobook)
The Hanging Tree - Ben Aaronovitch,Kobna Holdbrook-Smith

This is currently the last installment in this series, though there's at least one plot line I can see still needing to be resolved. (Why, Leslie?!) The plot is back to being a tad meandering, and the action's about as hard-boiled as a lazy British mystery can get. There are stereotypical Americans and the return of Kobna's bad American accents. Enjoyed it, but I'm probably not going to remember much about this one in a few weeks. 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?