logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: angelfall
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-03-02 16:32
Angelfall (Penryn and the End of Days, #1) - Susan Ee

Angels as the messengers from god and as awe-ful and awful as they are in accounts, and they're not fluffy but killers who are in a war they're not explaining with people who are caught in the crossfire, regarding normal humans as monkeys.  Before this Penryn had problems, a disabled sister and a mother with serious mental health issues are not to be sneezed at. When her wheelchair bound sister is stolen by an angel she goes on the hunt and when she comes across an angel bleeding from having his wings cut off she forces him to help her, he's intrigued, particularly when his swords doesn't reject her.

Interesting read, I'm curious where this is going to go.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2016-09-15 06:45
Spannungslos oder abgehärtet?
Angelfall - Nacht ohne Morgen: Roman - Susan Ee,Kathrin Wolf

Inhaltsangabe

Die Engel sind auf die Erde gekommen, doch sie haben nicht Frieden und Freude, sondern Elend und Zerstörung mit sich gebracht: Weltweit liegen die Städte in Trümmern, und die Menschen trauen sich vor Angst kaum noch auf die Straße. Als eine Gruppe Engel die kleine Schwester der toughen und furchtlosen Penryn entführt, haben sie sich jedoch mit der Falschen angelegt. Penryn zieht los zum Hauptquartier der Engel, um ihre Schwester zu befreien. Aber dafür braucht sie Hilfe – und die kommt ausgerechnet von Raffe, einem flügellosen Engel...

 

Meine Meinung 

Nachdem dieses Buch doch bei sehr vielen Lesern in aller Munde war, musste es im neuen Design nun auch endlich bei mir einziehen.

Erwartet habe ich mir eine starke Protagonistin, einen heißen männlichen Engel und Action.

 

In Hinsicht auf Penryn konnte mich die Autorin schon überzeugen. Penryn, die sich auf die Suche nach ihrer Schwester macht und sich wirklich von nichts und niemanden aufhalten lässt. Wäre da nicht dieser Engel, dem vor ihren Augen seine wunderschönen weißen Flügel abgeschnitten wurden. Wie soll sie sich ihm gegenüber verhalten. Einerseits sieht er so hilflos aus, andererseits gehört er zu den Feinden. Die Engel haben ihre Welt zerstört und ihre Schwester entführt.

Aber Penryn sieht in ihm ihre Chance herauszufinden, wo sie Paige hingebracht haben. Ein Geben und Nehmen also.

Gemeinsam machen sie sich auf den nicht einfachen Weg in Richtung des Engelhorstes.

 

Trotzdem es mir beim Lesen und aufgrund der guten Idee an Spannung und Action fehlte, lies das Buch sich sehr gut lesen. Am Schreibstil hat es also absolut nicht gelegen. Auch das Bildhafte war da, für meinen Geschmack nur nicht intensiv genug. Die Autorin verwarf den Fokus auf eine Sache zu schnell wieder.

 

Überzeugen konnte mich letztendlich wirklich das Ende, welche einen Showdown mit sich brachte, Emotionen hervorrufen konnte und mit einem grandiosen Cliffhanger dienen kann. Dieser Punkt wird wahrscheinlich auch dazu führen, dass ich auch den zweiten Band der Reihe lesen werde.

Und gleichzeitig zu hoffen, dass ich mehr von der Welt der Engel erfahren werde und die Story spannungsreich in die zweite Runde geht.

____________________________________________________________

 

Wurde mir der Charakter Penryn recht gut dargestellt, war mir der Engel Raffe viel zu blass. Im Nachhinein stelle ich mir einen Engel ohne Flügel vor, der tolle Bauchmuskeln hat. Aber das reicht mir nicht. Da es in diesem Buch auch um die Anziehung zwischen den beiden geht, müssen da mit mehr Reizen gearbeitet werden, die dem Leser in Erinnerung bleiben.

Betrachtet man dieses Thema ein wenig allumfassender, ist mir das gesamte Thema um die Engel viel zu kurz gekommen. Welche Rolle spielen die Flügel und das Engelsschwert? Welchen Hintergrund hat der Horst? Alles wurde angeschnitten, aber in einem Buch, mit der tollen Idee, dass die Engel an der Macht sind, müssen diese für meinen Geschmack mehr Aufmerksamkeit bekommen.

 

Engel vs. Menschen, die Städte liegen im Chaos, das Setting und auch die Stimmung sind düstern gestaltet, wieso kam bei mir kein Funke an Spannung herüber?

In der Hinsicht plätscherte das Geschehen nur so vor sich hin.

 

Eine Welt regiert von Engelwesen, welche sich nochmals in gute und dunkle Engel aufteilen. Reicht das nicht aus, um den Leser in eine andere Welt zu entführen? Für mich hätte es die Wesen im Labor absolut nicht geben müssen.

 

Mein Fazit

Auch wenn ich nicht ganz so häufig in diesem Genre lese und es viele begeisterte Meinungen zu diesem Reihenauftakt gibt, konnte mich dieser erste Teil nicht überzeugen. Allerdings erhoffe ich mir nach einem tollen Ende eine Steigerung vor allem in Hinsicht auf das Thema Spannung im zweiten Band der Reihe. Für alle Fans von Urban Fantasy, Endzeit- und Dystopieszenarien ist dieses Buch zu empfehlen. Leser von Spannungsliteratur wird es zu sacht erscheinen.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-08-26 16:36
JOINT POST: MR and OB Talk "Fall" Into a Good Book
September - Rosamunde Pilcher
The Scorpio Races - Maggie Stiefvater
Angelfall - Susan Ee
A Discovery of Witches - Deborah Harkness

So I absolutely cracked up during some of the brainstorming sessions I had with Moonlight Reader regarding the squares.

Believe me, we wanted to put a ton more in and we swapped some out. I am glad that we stuck with "Fall" into a good book though.

As we have discussed on the discussion boards for Book Bingos, "Fall" into a good book can mean the book takes place during the Fall, that the word "Fall" is in the title. I even went so far as saying that a character could take a great fall (a la Alice in Wonderland) but I am still waiting on a ruling from my partner on that one.

 

Here are some suggestions for you!

 

Moonlight Murder

 

Moonlight MurderMoonlight MurderSo, "Fall" into a good book is full of possibilities! Here are 3 suggestions for everyone:

1. September by Rosamunde Pilcher: This is for the romance/women's fic readers among us. Pilcher writes sprawling family sagas set in England/Scotland, and this book is entirely non-scary. However, the entire book is built around a family in Scotland that is getting ready for a big party in September, so in my opinion, it definitely qualifies for the square!

2. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater: This is one of my favorite YA books of all time. It begins in mid-October, when Puck, the main character, decides to race her Island pony Dove in the Scorpio Races, which happen on the first of November, when the blood-thirsty water horses make landfall and the bravest men ride them to victory. If they survive. Puck is the first girl to claim the right to race in the Scorpio Races. This book is remarkable and lyrical, and the relationship between Puck and her pony is tender and lovely. The entire book takes place in the fall, which is why it qualifies for this square.

3. The Fall by Bethany Griffin: I have to admit I have not read this book, so take the recommendation with a grain of salt. It is a YA re-imagining of The Fall of the House of Usher. The reviews are all over the place. Some readers love it, others complain that it is boring.

My planned read, however, is Night in Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny. I was recommended this book by my friend Frank Tuttle (who writes rather lovely books himself, as an aside), and I bought it last year when I found that it had been reissued in print by the Chicago Review Press. The format is interesting - each chapter represents a day in October, and it is my plan to read it as written - one chapter per day, concluding on Halloween.

 

Obsidian Black Death

 

My suggestions for those that are still having some problems.

1. Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days #1) by Susan E. I noticed that a lot of fellow Booklikers have read and reviewed this book and I was tempted to read this one too for my square, but ended up going with something else instead. It is YA fantasy and paranormal so it definitely fits the overall theme of our bingo.

2. A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) by Deborah Harkness. This first book takes place during the Fall term at Oxford. The rest of the book takes place during Fall and particular scenes take place during Halloween for those of you still looking for a book for the Halloween square. Since this book is about vampires and witches (oh my) this will also fit the supernatural square as well. I really loved the first book in the series so I always recommend it to other people.

3. Darkness Falls (Darkness Falls #1) by Jessica Sorensen. I ended up choosing this book for this square. I see that it had some good reviews on Goodreads, and I wanted to read something I had not read before as much as possible for the Halloween Bingo.

 

Prior joint posts:

 

Magical Realism

Supernatural

Locked Room Mystery

Mystery

Diverse Authors

 

And tomorrow's post is scheduled to be "It was a dark and stormy night". Stay tuned!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-07-25 16:11
Angelfall
Angelfall - Susan Ee

I was told I should read this series because it has everything I thought Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone series lacked. And it does, sort of. Plenty of action that doesn't happen offstage and minimal tragi-romantic mooning, for example. And I enjoyed this first book. I did. But to be honest, Ee's prose doesn't hold a candle to Taylor's. It's not terrible by any means. I just strongly dislike present tense. Some authors can make me forget that, but not Ee. Not in this book.

 

I like Penryn, and I love that she kicks ass and rescues herself more often than not -- but since we can't have a YA book without any of the old familiar tropes, she doesn't know she's beautiful until Raffe tells her. Of course.

 

I like Raffe. Dude's got layers. Like an ogre. Or a parfait.

 

I like the horror aspect, and I didn't think I would, but it totally works. The Apocalypse should be horrifying.

 

I like the world building, even though it's frustrating in the extreme. It's the end of the world as we know it, and literally no one knows what's going on. Literally. No one.

 

On the nitpicky side of things, there were minimal typos (yay!), but there was frequent repetitive word usage (boo!), and it really bothered me that angels have super hearing except when the plot demands that they don't.

 

Overall, I declare this a fun, quick read and I'm diving straight into book two.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-04-20 14:50
Angelfall by Susan Ee
Angelfall - Susan Ee

Rereading this book was great.  I still like the concept and the world.  Penryn can annoy me at times.  She does stupid things and at times her stupidity is just pointless.  I can't wait to finally finish this trilogy.  

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?