logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: haven
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-10-16 21:50
Self-Pubs That Shine
The Book of Kindly Deaths - Eldritch Black
Rewinder - Brett Battles
Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper - J.L. Bryan
Paladin - Sally Slater
Haven - A.R. Ivanovich,Michelle Ivanovich
Nightfall Gardens - Allen Houston
Marking Time - April White
Slumber - Samantha Young
Timebound - Rysa Walker
Nefertiti's Heart - A.W. Exley

Most of us these days are aware of the flood of self-pubbed books and how difficult it can be to find a gem in the sea of mediocrity.  We often see reviews of the sub-par and/or reports of unethical marketing schemes or unprofessional behavior on the part of some authors.

But some of us who have stuck a toe or two into those waters have come across a few gems.  I thought it'd be good to share a few self-pubbed & small press books I really enjoyed and that I feel stand well among their trade-pubbed counterparts. 

So here are a few I've discovered that I am proud to recommend.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-10-16 18:45
Interview with Matt Godfrey, (Narrator Extraordinaire!)
Blackwater: The Complete Saga - Michael McDowell,Matt Godfrey
Haven - Greymore Publishing,Matt Godfrey,Tom Deady
Nightmares and Geezenstacks - Matt Godfrey,Valancourt Books,Fredric Brown
All Souls' Night - Matt Godfrey,Valancourt Books,Sir Hugh Walpole
The Late Breakfasters and Other Strange Stories (Valancourt 20th Century Classics) - Robert Aickman,Philip Challinor

 

I had the distinct pleasure of interviewing actor & audiobook narrator Matt Godfrey for Horror After Dark!

 

Have you every wondered if narrators read the book first before accepting a narration job? Have you wondered whether they just know how to pronounce everything or if they practice first? Your questions have been answered! I hope you'll take the time to check it out here.

 

 

  

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-12 21:46
Tempted & Taken
Tempted & Taken (Men of Haven) - Rhenna Morgan

Title: Tempted & Taken

Author:  Rhenna Morgan

Publisher:  Carina Press

Series:  Men of Haven Series # 4

Reviewed By:  Arlena Dean

Rating:  Five

Review:

 

"Tempted & Taken" by Rhenna Morgan

 

My Thoughts...

 

This was another good series of the 'Men of Haven # 4 that was indeed a good read.  The story features one of my favorite of the 'Men of Haven' Knox Torren who  was yes a 'coder, hacker, dominant alpha and a friend.'  Then you add Darya Volkova who had to hide her identity, wanting to work for Knox and the reader will be ready for a wonderful story of how this will all work out as these two are drawn together.

 

Will Knox be able to save Darya from who she is running from? Will their chemistry that have for each other be able to keep them together? I loved how this author brings it all out about Knox past and why he was the way he was especially when it came to the women he came involved with.  With all the Haven Men, with their wives and moms  being involved again really makes this story so very real as they come together helping  just when it was needed.  Also, I liked some of the new characters that were new to this series that was added to to give the reader a different spin in how the story turned out. 

 

I will say it was great seeing Knox with Darya.  Now, will they get their HEA?  Well you will just have to pick up "Tempted & Taken" to see how this author brings out another good series to  the readers.  All that is left for me to say is that Knox was truly one guy I loved reading about where he finally gets his happiness!

 

 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-10-08 16:40
Closer to You (Havana, Montana) by Jill Sanders
Closer to You (A Haven, Montana Novel) - Jill Sanders

 

How can anyone not enjoy Closer to You? A little sexual tension, a bit of small town gossip and the wisdom of the heart that Ms. Sanders is known to deliver, makes for habit forming entertainment. Tyler and Kristin are as cunning as they are clueless. Before I even realized what was happening they had laid a claim to my heart. Sizzling sweetness never hurt anyone.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-10-06 17:57
REVIEW BY AMY - Haven by Mary Lindsey
Haven - Mary Lindsey

"We all hold a beast inside. The only difference is what form it takes when freed."

Rain Ryland has never belonged anywhere, He’s use to people judging him for his rough background, his intimidating size, and now, his orphan status. He’s always been on the outside, looking in, and he’s fine with that. Until he moves to New Wurzburg and meets Friederike Burkhart. 

Freddie isn’t like normal teen girls, though. And someone wants her dead for it. Freddie warns he’d better stay far away if he wants to stay alive, but Rain’s never been good at running rom trouble. For the first time, Rain has something worth fighting for, worth living for. Worth dying for. 

Ancient magic and modern society collide in a sexy, spellbinding romance perfect for fans of C. C. Hunter and Maggie Stiefvater that proves sometimes beauty is the beast…


Former title: Hide from Me.

 

@MaryL_MarissaC, @Mommy_Amers, #Paranormal, #Young_Adult, 5 out of 5 (exceptional)

 

Source: sites.google.com/site/archaeolibrarian/amy/havenbymarylindsey
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?