logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: limited-edition
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-12-19 16:18
The book illustrates a problem with our justice system vis a vis wrongful convictions.
The Guardians - Limited Edition - John Grisham

The Guardians, John Grisham, author; Michael Beck, narrator
Grisham knows how to write a book that holds the reader’s attention. Although it is simplistic at times, in its style, and although there is no real action to excite the reader, many of the problems in our justice system are exposed in this novel in a way that the public can digest easily. It illustrates the danger that often fasces those who stare down the injustices of society. Often it is horrifying, like when corrupt individuals and organizations like drug cartels take justice into their own hands, and often it is uplifting when justice prevails and the innocent go free. Always, it is appealing and will hold the reader’s interest. Several cases of unfairly sentenced victims are developed and the effort to set some free is described in detail.
In particular, however, the novel focuses on Quincy Miller, a man who has been behind bars for more than two decades for a murder he did not commit. Cullen Post and his compatriots work tirelessly for Guardian Ministries to free the wrongfully convicted. They expend this effort for very little personal, material compensation, but rather they work for the satisfaction of righting injustice. Cullen Post was once a public defender. In the past, he had a nervous breakdown when assigned to defend a violent, barbaric murderer, and he abandoned his law career. His marriage dissolved after months of psychiatric treatment, and he decided to enter the seminary and became an Episcopal minister. After that effort waned, and he needed to do more, he joined forces with a woman who opened a ministry that defended those that some might call the indefensible, the convicted felons on death row. Some had no money, but all insisted they were innocent. Some of the convicts that contacted them were eventually exposed as guilty, but most were not, and the effort to save them is always laudable.
The reader learns that there are many wrongfully convicted prisoners languishing in prison. The justice system does not make it easy to reverse course once it has ruled, even when new evidence is discovered. Are there jailhouse snitches, have some wives and husbands lied to convict their spouses, do witnesses lie, do some forensic scientists adjust their testimony to suit the person who hires them, do the real murderers feel no guilt when someone dies in their stead? Yes, apparently.
There are lots of moral questions arising from this straightforward tale about injustice and those that devote themselves to work to correct the failures of our justice system. It is inspiring to learn of that effort. At the end, the author’s note explains that this novel is based on a real case, and there is a real organization, like Guardian Ministries. It is the Centurion Ministry. It is a non-profit that works to free the wrongfully convicted. He also notes that they could use donations to further their efforts more effectively. If this book interests you and inspires you to learn more, I suggest you also read the non-fiction book by the author Grisham mentions, Bryan Stevenson. It is called “Just Mercy”.
The narrator of this book was spot on. He read with perfect tone and emphasis, never getting in the way of the book's message.

Like Reblog Comment
text 2019-11-19 15:11
PocketBook Touch Lux 4 Limited Edition już DOSTĘPNY

PocketBook Touch Lux 4 Limited Edition pomyślany jest jako zestaw podarunkowy. I zapewne w tę stronę będzie zmierzać promowanie tego produktu w okresie przedświątecznym. Ja bym się z takiego prezentu ucieszył... Oczywiście nic nie stoi też na przeszkodzie, żeby samemu sobie sprawić prezent.

 

PocketBook Touch Lux 4 Limited Edition (źródło: mat. prasowe PocketBook)

 

Argumentem za obdarowaniem kogoś tym właśnie czytnikiem, jest dopracowanie szczegółów „otoczenia”. Spore (jak na czytnik) pudełko sprawia bardzo pozytywne wrażenie. Jest wykonane z twardego kartonu. Zawiera nie tylko czytnik ale i firmową okładkę. To wersja „slim”, która dokładnie przylega do obudowy i faktycznie „nie pogrubia” urządzenia. Na pudełku podano także ważną informację, czytnik jest objęty dodatkowym rokiem gwarancji serwisowej. A więc w sumie jest ona na 36 miesięcy.

 

PocketBook Touch Lux 4 w wersji z czarną obudową, ale w zimowych okolicznościach przyrody

 

Sam czytnik oferowany jest z obudową w złotym kolorze o matowym odcieniu. Tylko kolorem obudowy różni się od dotychczas obecnego na rynku PocketBooka Touch Lux 4. Ja recenzowałem wiosną tego roku wersję z czarną obudową. To lekki, poręczny, sprawnie działający czytnik, który mogę polecić szczególnie osobom myślącym o niedrogim sprzęcie do obsługi wypożyczalni Legimi. Więcej we wpisie „PocketBook Touch Lux 4 – RECENZJA najtańszego sensownego CZYTNIKA do Legimi”.

 

Czytnik jest już dostępny w sklepie oficjalnego dystrybutora PocketBooków na Polskę. Być może trafi także do innych sprzedawców, ale warto pamiętać, że faktycznie (zgodnie z nazwą) edycja jest limitowana. Tak jak zapowiadano, zestaw kosztuje 549 PLN.

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-10-30 18:48
The Guardians - Limited Edition - John Grisham
THE GUARDIANS by John Grisham
Quincy has been rotting in prison for years convicted of a crime he didn’t commit. Cullen Post, a minister and a lawyer, along with the rest of the Guardians agree to help him.
 
 
Who are the bad guys? They are really bad, well protected. and have no compunction against killing a minister, a lawyer, a prisoner, or anyone else who gets in their way.
 
Grisham, a master of the crime field, has another winner in THE GUARDIANS. The clever plot is convoluted enough to keep you guessing, but not enough to discourage you as you race to discover the bad guys.
 
As usual with a Grisham novel, few “bad words”, few sex scenes, the violence takes place off page, but the twists and turns, riveting plot, fully developed characters and excellent writing are all there.
 
5 of 5 stars

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2019-10-29 17:31
PRE-ORDER - Darkness Rising: A Limited Edition Fantasy and Urban Fantasy Collection
Darkness Rising: A Limited Edition Fantasy and Urban Fantasy Collection - J.J. King,Koko Brown,C.A. King,Rachel Rawlings,Maya Daniels,Becca Blake,Jennifer Ann Schlag,Jess Reece,Tempi Lark,Emmy Gattrell,S.C. Stokes

@mayadaniels11, #Paranormal, #Romance, #Urban, #Fantasy

 
PLUS - those who pre-order will receive a #FREEBIE to get a taste of everyone in the anthology.
 
Few can survive the rising dark.

Join unimaginable paranormal creatures in epic battles or enjoy a heart-stopping romance that will take your breath away.

In this collection of paranormal romance and fantasy novels, witches, wolves, demons, and demigods haunt the pages as they fight against the pull of darkness.
But will they succeed?

Fans of Ilona Andrews and Deborah Harkness will devour this soul-scorching collection of 24 novels from today’s USA Today bestsellers and talented new authors!
Source: archaeolibrarian.wixsite.com/website/single-post/2019/10/29/Darkness-Rising-A-Limited-Edition-Fantasy-and-Urban-Fantasy-Collection
Like Reblog Comment
text 2019-10-21 16:03
NOWA wersja kolorystyczna czytnika PocketBook Touch Lux 4

Firma PocketBook podaje, że model Touch Lux 4 jest jednym z najczęściej kupowanych czytników tej marki. Może się mylę, ale fakt, że jest to lekki, poręczny, sprawnie działający i do tego najtańszy sensowny czytnik do Legimi może mieć na to spory wpływ. Podczas testów, zaskoczył mnie szybszym działaniem i lekkością, bo spodziewałem się po prostu zmodyfikowanego Touch Lux 3 w nowej obudowie. Więcej moich wrażeń i szczegółów technicznych znajdziecie we wpisie sprzed pół roku pt. „PocketBook Touch Lux 4 – RECENZJA najtańszego sensownego CZYTNIKA do Legimi”. Teraz do wersji z czarną, szmaragdowo-czarną oraz srebrną obudową, dołącza PocketBook Touch Lux 4 Limited Edition - w nowym kolorze obudowy i z dodatkami.

 

PocketBook Touch Lux 4 Limited Edition (źródło: mat. prasowe PocketBook)

 

Nowa wersja kolorystyczna promowana jest jako zestaw podarunkowy. A właśnie obudowa w złotym odcieniu może być dodatkowym atutem takiego upominku. Do tego w zestawie znajduje się firmowa okładka z funkcją usypiania. Tu nie mamy wyboru - producent oferuje wersję niebieską. Kolejnym atutem zestawu „prezentowego” jest ozdobne pudełko, na którym znalazła się informacja o dodatkowym roku gwarancji. W sumie więc naprawy serwisowe mogą być świadczone w ramach gwarancji producenta do 36 miesięcy od daty zakupu. Gwarancja odnoście ekranu pozostaje zapewne bez zmian. O polityce firmy w tym zakresie, pisałem w tekście „PocketBook rozszerza ZASADY GWARANCJI na swoje czytniki”.

 

PocketBook Touch Lux 4 Limited Edition (źródło: mat. prasowe PocketBook)

 

Czytnik ma na polskim rynku kosztować 549 PLN, czyli około 90 złotych drożej w porównaniu do obecnej ceny Touch Lux 4 ze standardową gwarancją i bez okładki. Nie podano daty premiery rynkowej PocketBooka Touch Lux 4 Limited Edition.

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?