logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: lisa-unger
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-05-20 19:28
The Whispering Hollows Novella's by Lisa Unger
The Whispers: A Whispers Story - Lisa Unger
The Burning Girl: A Whispers Story - Lisa Unger
The Three Sisters: A Whispers Story (The Whispers Series) - Lisa Unger

๏ ๏ ๏ Highlights ๏ ๏ ๏

 

The Whispers - Novella 1
The Burning Girl - Novella 2
The Three Sisters - Novella 3
Psychic Powers
Some Mystery

 

With Audio Performed by January LaVoy

 

 

 


๏ ๏ ๏ My Thoughts ๏ ๏ ๏

 

Collectively in eBook format these three novella's are available as a set with this cover:

 

 

I listened to each one separately, but consecutively on Audio, which was performed by one of my favorite narrators, January LaVoy. I listened to this mainly so I would be up to speed for Ink & Bone by Lisa Unger. These short novellas are sort of a prequel to that story. These were each very short, quick listens and while I didn't find them overly special...I'm certainly not upset with spending my day with them.

 

๏ ๏ ๏ MY RATING ๏ ๏ ๏

 

3STARS - GRADE=C

 

 


๏ Breakdown of Ratings ๏


Plot⇝ 2.7/5
Narration Performance⇝ 4.5/5
Characters⇝ 3.7/5
The Feels⇝ 3/5
Pacing⇝ 2.5/5
Flow (Writing Style)⇝ 2.5/5
Ending⇝ 2.7/5
๏ ๏ ๏
Setting⇝ The Hollows
Source⇝ Audiobook (Library & Scribd)
๏ ๏ ๏

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-03-31 21:52
☆4.7☆ STARS for The Red Hunter by Lisa Unger
The Red Hunter: A Novel - Lisa Unger

 

 

๏ ๏ ๏  Highlights ๏ ๏ ๏ 

 
Intricate Plot/Twisty Mystery
Engaging Characters
Revenge
Rape and the Aftermath
 & Empowerment
 

๏ ๏ ๏ A Bookish Obsession Favorite ๏ ๏ ๏

 
 
 
 

With Audio Performed by Julia Whelan 

 
 
 
 
 

๏ ๏ ๏  My Thoughts ๏ ๏ ๏ 

 
I've only recently started reading Mysteries/Thrillers and I don't usually find myself wanting to rate them anything over four stars...but this book has done so, one of the rare few.  I really liked it...from the cover and to everything inside the cover, this book delivers. 

My only qualm is the shifting of narratives left me continuously confused as to whose head I was in.  With so many perspectives, and added to that all the many characters in each perspective life, I was constantly mixing up the side characters.  A full-cast narration could have solved this...I'm just saying.  Overall, though, the intricately woven plot-line coupled with the engaging and authentic characters made that qualm almost completely overlookable.  

๏ ๏ ๏  MY RATING ๏ ๏ ๏ 

 

4.7STARS - GRADE=A

 
 
 
 

๏ Breakdown of Ratings ๏

 

Plot⇝  4.5/5
Narration Performance⇝  4.3/5
Characters⇝  5/5
The Feels⇝  4.8/5
Pacing⇝  5/5
Addictiveness⇝  4.5/5
Theme or Tone⇝  5/5
Flow (Writing Style)⇝  4.3/5
Backdrop (World Building)⇝  5/5
Originality⇝ 5/5
Ending⇝  5/5
๏ ๏ ๏
Book Cover⇝ Pretty and mysterious...
Setting⇝ Lost Valley & New York City
Source⇝ Audiobook (Library)
๏ ๏ ๏

๏ ๏ ๏ Links ๏ ๏ ๏

 

Kindle eBook | Audio

Add to Goodreads | Add to Booklikes

 

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.


Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-10-03 06:53
Under My Skin
Under My Skin - Lisa Unger

I heard so many great things about this book and it started off well enough. Unfortunately, it started going downhill quickly and snowballed from there. I'm usually a fan of an unreliable narrator, but this one pushed that way past the limit. The story bounces from past to present, but not everything "seen" or "remembered" is reality. It's done by way of dreams, memories, and/or hallucinations that are all seen through a drug and alcohol induced haze. It's done in such a way that it's almost impossible to tell which is which, leading to some flipping back through the pages. I suppose that was intentional, but it mostly just caused confusion and irritation, especially when it became repetitive. Between that and the slow pace, I finally admitted defeat at about the fifty percent mark and started skimming. We finally do get the answers about Jack's murder, and even with skimming and a red herring or two thrown in, I was still able to figure out who did it. I didn't have the why of it all but in all honesty, by the time I finally got there, I didn't care enough about any of the characters for it to make much difference. The only character that I did like was Grayson, who also seemed to be the only sensible person in this rather convoluted tale. As I said, I heard good things about this one prior to reading it, and maybe it's just me, but it's safe to say that I was underwhelmed.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-08-23 21:33
Delusions or Flashbacks?
Under My Skin - Lisa Unger

Some people go on Internet dates to meet that special someone or to just make some sort of connection to combat loneliness.  Poppy, the main character in Lisa Unger’s Under My Skin, goes on these dates to satisfy her need for physical affection without wanting to ever talk the person again.  It can be a risky undertaking, and she has been flirting with recklessness ever since losing her husband the year before.  Poppy and Jack were just getting started with a new photography agency, an upgrade in their living arrangements, and attempts to have a baby together when Jack was killed. He was attacked while out for a run one morning, and Poppy is filled with guilt because she did not accompany that day as usual.  Right after his death, Poppy had a breakdown, disappearing for days with no memory of where she was or what she was doing during that time.  Her best friend from childhood and coworkers keep a close eye on her as she struggles to keep up with the business and maintain her sanity.  Poppy can’t bring herself to unpack the boxes in the new apartment, and she has been turning increasingly to overly self-medicating.  When she thinks she is being followed, she contacts the detective who is still investigating Jack’s death.  He tells her that some new evidence has come to light that might indicate that Jack’s death was not a random attack.  Poppy experiences flashes of former events, but are they just dreams or real memories?  Could she be losing her tenuous grip on reality or is her subconscious trying to send her a message?  Seeking answers, Poppy searches the city for the places and people she has envisioned.  Meanwhile, she also is torn by some unexpected feelings for one of her Internet dates whose persistence both comforts and unnerves her.  Poppy increasingly takes chances and chases after danger as she gets closer to discovering the truth about her missing days.  Her discoveries cause her to question her assumptions about her marriage and wonder about the secrets that may have been simmering beneath its happy facade. Unger’s novel is a solid page-turner with some good twists and well-developed characters.  Under My Skin should be well-received by Unger’s current followers, and would also appeal to fans of A.J. Finn, Ruth Ware and Paula Hawkins.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-05-25 22:34
Awesome!
The Red Hunter: A Novel - Lisa Unger

The Red Hunter by Lisa Unger is an awesome read. Ms. Unger has delivered a book that is well-written with lots of tangents. She weaves those tangents together in the most remarkable way. The characters in this book are phenomenal. There is lots of drama, action and suspense, with a little humor tossed in that lightens the read. This is a bit of a dark read, but once you start reading it, you won't want to put it down. I enjoyed reading The Red Hunter, but I have to admit, there toward the end, Ms. Unger had me on the edge of my seat once more. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger.

 

I won a copy of this book from Goodreads.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?