logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: mackenzi-lee
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-05-03 16:05
Rezension | Cavaliersreise. Die Bekenntnisse eines Gentlemans von Mackenzi Lee
Cavaliersreise. Die Bekenntnisse eines G... Cavaliersreise. Die Bekenntnisse eines Gentlemans - Mackenzi Lee,Gesine Schröder

Beschreibung

Der 18-jährige Sir Henry Montague liebt es das Leben in vollen Zügen zu genießen. Dazu gehören jede Menge Alkohol, Liebschaften und die Abenteuer mit seinem besten Freund Percy. Bevor der Ernst des Lebens beginnt, steht für Monty, seine Schwester Felicity und Percy jedoch noch eine Bildungsreise, auch Cavaliersreise genannt, an.

 

Wie könnte es anders sein? Auf der Cavaliersreise ist Monty die meiste Zeit über betrunken und tritt von einem Fettnäpfchen ins nächste. Außerdem verliert die junge Reisegesellschaft durch einen Überfall durch Wegelagerer auch noch ihren Hofmeister und jegliche Aussicht auf eine vergnügliche und bequeme Reise. Monty, Percy und Felicity stehen dafür jede Menge Abenteuer und Kämpfe bevor. Die offensichtlichen Kämpfe gegen Wegelagerer und Piraten sind dabei nicht immer die schwerwiegendsten, der Kampf gegen ihre Gefühle füreinander treiben Monty und Percy immer weiter auseinander…

 

Meine Meinung

 

Mit dem Jugendroman „Cavaliersreise. Die Bekenntnisse eines Gentlemans“ ist zum ersten Mal ein Roman der Autorin Mackenzi Lee in deutscher Sprache erschienen. In ihrem Roman behandelt die Schriftstellerin das Thema der Bildungsreise, auch „Grand Tour“ oder „Cavaliersreise“ genannt, die für die Söhne des damaligen europäischen Landadels üblich war und vor allem kulturelle Ziele in Mitteleuropa, Italien und Spanien hatte.

 

"Es hat sich nichts verändert, und doch ist nichts, wie es war." (Seite 196)

 

Ich liebe Romane in denen historische Fakten und Details mit einem fiktiven Plot zu einer lebendigen Geschichte verwoben werden. Genau dies ist Mackenzi Lee mit ihrer „Cavaliersreise“ hervorragend gelungen! Hinzu kommen zudem noch ein wahnsinnig mitreisender und erfrischender Schreibstil, der das Buch mit Witz und gelungenem Spannungsbogen zu einem richtigen Pageturner macht. Also VORSICHT, wenn du zu diesem Buch greifst solltest du genügend Zeit haben, denn einmal begonnen wirst du es nicht mehr aus der Hand legen können.

 

Besonders geschickt verleiht die Autorin ihren Figuren während des Handlungsverlaufs den nötigen Feinschliff. Ohne es richtig zu bemerken wachsen einem Monty, Percy und Felicity immer mehr ans Herz. Monty (Spitzname von Sir Henry Montague) ist zuerst ein wahrer Unsymphat mit seinem übermäßigen Alkoholgenuß und seinem fehlenden Verantwortungsbewusstsein. Doch je mehr ich über Monty laß, seine Entwicklung und Vergangenheit mit erlebte, desto mehr mochte ich ihn. Ähnlich erging es mir mit Montys Schwester Felicity, die zuerst ziemlich blass erscheint, mit fortlaufender Zeit aber immer mehr Reiz gewinnt. Sehr beeindruckend fand ich, dass Felicity ohne mit der Wimper zu zucken ihre Frau steht, und im Vergleich zu ihren männlichen Reisebegleitern um einiges reifer wirkt. Percy war für mich immer der ausgleichende Ruhepol in dieser Dreierkonstellation, der sich trotz des Päckchens das er zu tragen hat, selbst zurücknimmt.

 

Mehr Diversity kann man sich in diesem Roman kaum vorstellen. Die Autorin Mackenzi Lee hat sich wirklich sehr viel Mühe gegeben, möglichst viele Themen anzuschneiden die im 18. Jahrhundert gegen die gesellschaftlichen Gepflogenheiten verstoßen haben. Monty fühlt sich zu Frauen und Männern hingezogen und verliebt sich schließlich in seinen allerbesten Freund. Felicity ist eine starke Frau die sich von der dominierenden Männerwelt nicht unterbekommen lässt und sich gegen die damaligen Regeln Wissen auf eigene Faust aneignet, um einen Beruf ausüben zu können. Percy hat eine dunkle Hautfarbe und wird zwar von seiner Familie, bestehend aus Onkel und Tante, akzeptiert – in der Gesellschaft ist er allerdings nicht gerne gesehen. Von dem ein oder anderen wird er als Angestellter oder gar Sklave angesehen.

 

"Und so endete der Abend, der mit Poesie und Feuerwerk begann, in dem peinlichsten Schweigemarsch nach Hause, den je zwei Menschen gemeinsam absolvieren mussten." (Seite 58)

 

Für mich ist „Cavaliersreise“ eine rundum gelungener Roman der keine Wünsche offen lässt. Der Plot bietet reichlich Action mit historischen Einflüssen, aber auch die emotionale Seite wird mit einer hinreißenden Liebesgeschichte abgedeckt, die jedes Herz zum schmelzen bringt. Die liebevoll gezeichneten Charaktere runden die ganze Geschichte ab.

 

Fazit

 

Ein Roman zum mitfiebern, lachen und Tränen vergießen. Das alles vor dem mitreisenden historischen Hintergrund einer Bildungsreise im 18. Jahrhundert. Das muss man unbedingt gelesen haben!

Source: www.bellaswonderworld.de/rezensionen/rezension-cavaliersreise-die-bekenntnisse-eines-gentlemans-von-mackenzi-lee
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-05-30 00:59
This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee
This Monstrous Thing - Mackenzi Lee

Fans of both Steampunk novels, and Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, are going to adore this book. I can tell you that right now. I would know, seeing as how I fit right into that category as well. While I knew this was a retelling, going in, I had no idea that there was also a Steampunk aspect attached to it. Needless to say, it was a rather pleasant surprise! That ended up being one of the many things I really enjoyed about this book.

 

This Monstrous Thing sets us in the middle 1818 Geneva. Alasdair, our protagonist, has grown up as a "Shadow Boy", or part of the group who help "repair" injured people through the use of clockwork. Which, as you might imagine, is rather frowned upon by the general public. Their work is seen as against God, and is therefore illegal. So, our young protagonist has to no choice but to operate in the shadows. Let me tell you, I fell in love with young Alasdair from page one. He's so smart, so inherently kind, and yet has the analytical mind of a scientist. I loved that he, buried in a sea of sheep, was the one who thought for himself.

 

What progresses from here is a story that skims along the edge of its source material. While This Monstrous Thing is a reimagining of Frankenstein, it happily takes off on its own course. There are some brilliant discussions of morality, of death, and even of the bonds between family members. Mary Shelley herself makes her debut, and the relationship between her and Alasdair was just perfection to me. In fact, I adored the fact that there was no romance front and center, to steal the stage. Having a protagonist who can meet a female character, and have a platonic relationship with her, is generally rather rare. I'm glad there wasn't any of that to muck up Alasdair's destiny.

 

This book is quick paced. It's vividly written, and easily the type of story that you won't want to set aside until it's over. The historical part of all of this meshes perfectly with the fictional side, creating a book that it just a treat to read! I'm impressed, and I'm genuinely hoping that there's more out there somewhere.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2016-05-24 22:07
Reading progress update: I've read 35%.
This Monstrous Thing - Mackenzi Lee

So far, this book is excellent! Really well written, and engaging. I'm a sucker for anything Frankenstein based, and this has a little bit of steampunk thrown in too. So, yeah I'm pretty hooked.

 

Fingers crossed that it stays this good!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-02-10 01:10
This Monstrous Thing - Mackenzi Lee

I LOVED this telling of Frankenstein.

Great cast of characters, fast moving and mysterious telling, all mixed with a classic tale that for me personally, is a favorite. 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-01-05 20:24
This Monstrous Thing
This Monstrous Thing - Mackenzi Lee

[I received a copy of this novel through Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review.]

Sort of a retelling of the “Frankenstein” story, based on the idea of “what if the latter had been inspired by real-life events”. In a world where clockwork (allowing to replace missing limbs in people, among other things) is considered in some places, due to its proponents' reputation of not being fully human, Alasdair Finch and his family have been on the run for years, ending in Geneva where they secretly practice their craft as “Shadow Boys”. Since the elder brother, Oliver, died two years ago, though, nothing has been the same. It is, obviously, no spoiler to say that Alasdair brought him back through clockwork, and now has to deal with a different Oliver, back from the dead... and no brother quite know what to do with himself or each other anymore.

The characters themselves were interesting enough, with merits and flaws, doubts and questions regarding what they had done, what they should do... Oliver: convinced he was a monster, and having to learn who he was through Alasdair, since he first had no memory of his previous life. Alasdair, torn between his loyalty towards his brother and family and his desire to study with their former mentor, Dr. Geisler. Clémence, so hardened and savvy in many ways, yet also unsure of what her place in the world was. Mary, conflicted about the choices she made and the façade she presented to the world. Even some minor characters, whose own perception of clockwork isn't always what you'd think.

I regretted however not seeing more of their inner questioning: we get a lot from Alasdair, since he's the first person narrator, but the others seemed to have such torment to contend with, and it was “only” seen through Ally's eyes, therefore tinged by his own view of the world. It mirrored the original work by Shelley, but didn't have the same impact on me. Perhaps a third person narration, with a couple of other points of view, may have worked well here, if only to also let the reader witness other happenings—the plot remained slow in terms of events/action, yet not as devoted as it could have been to fully develop the whole philosophy and conundrums behind the Shadow Boys, clockwork, people having undergone such surgery after having lost a foot or an arm, the Frankenstein society, Mary Shelley's actions and her somewhat questionable reasons... And although the ending was left open, it was also a little flat compared to what had been at stake.

I still deem this book pleasant to read, for the atmosphere it evoked and the themes it dealt with. I only wish it would've delved deeper into its, all in all, fascinating ideas.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?