logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: quite-good
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-15 00:23
The Good, the Bad and the Emus
The Good, the Bad, and the Emu - Donna Andrews

It is summer and Meg is trying to cut her bushes and keep her yard nice while watching her four-year-old twin sons and niece, Natalie, who has come to help watch the boys. After she gets cut on her tools when her niece screams, she is in the ER having sutures and Stanley Denton, a friend and PI, comes and asks that she take a trip to a nearby town and help him get in with a woman who is related to the woman that was Meg's grandmother, that has died. When she comes to town she gains admittance to the house and she and Stanley agree that they will try to figure a way to help find out what happened to her grandmother on the cold December night that she was murdered. On the way back to Caerphilly, Denton sees a very large bird that looks either like an emu or an ostrich. When they get back to her parent's place, the information inspires her grandfather, Dr. Blake, to get the group together and go rescue the birds and take them to Carolyn's sanctuary. While they are there, a man is poisoned by scotch he put in his coffee, that had been a gift to her grandfather and someone left candies at her cousin's home. The sheriff is trying to find out who murdered Cordelia, who attempted to poison Dr. Blake and who tried to poison Meg's cousin. At the same time, they go out and try to find the birds. It is a very fun story and there was a moment in the book where she talks about her friend keeping paperwork handy for the "frequent fliers'" to the emergency room. I remember those times and not nearly as fondly as I could. Although we can now laugh about some of the things that landed us there. 

 

The books were read out of order, but that is the beauty of these stories, they are great in order or out of order. 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-14 21:21
Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! The Good for Nothing Button! - Mo Willems,Charise Mericle Harper,Mo Willems,Charise Mericle Harper
For more reviews, check out my blog: Craft-Cycle

This is a cute idea for a book. I like how it expands on the Elephant and Piggie universe. The story itself is funny, but I wouldn't say it's as good as the actual Elephant and Piggie books. The concept was too circular and it doesn't really go anywhere. But it is still a fun read. 

Nice illustrations. I love all of the facial expressions. 

Plus, Gerald, Piggie, and the Pigeon all make an appearance in the book, which is fun. 

A cute read for fans of Gerald and Piggie. 
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-13 22:47
Awful Darth Vader NNOOOOOOO!!!!
Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #25 - Kyle Higgins,Daniele "Kota" di Nicuolo,Matt Herms

 

 

 

A Power Ranger comic is NEVER SUPPOSED TO MAKE YOU CRY!!!! Why?!?!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-04-13 07:10
Blog Tour - Never Been Good

 

About the Book:

 

Never Been Good
by Christi Barth

Series: Bad Boys Gone Good #2

Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Avon Impulse

Publication Date: April 3, 2018

 

 

 

 

Flynn Maguire isn’t really a bad guy. Sure, he worked for the mob, but he ran a legitimate business—on paper anyway—and it paid enough to keep his brother out of the lifestyle. Until they turned on him. Now he’s stuck in Witness Protection, tending bar in Nowheresville Oregon… and pissed the life he knew is gone.

 

The only bright spot? Fantasizing about his quiet, secretive, beautiful coworker.

 

Sierra Williams is a woman on the run. All she wants now is to settle into small town life… and ignore the brooding, sexy bartender who can’t seem to take his eyes off her. Flynn’s bad-boy vibe pushes all her buttons, but Sierra fell for the wrong man once already. She can’t afford to let her guard down again. Except Flynn’s tough exterior is slowly melting away to reveal the sweet man beneath and their attraction is too strong to resist.

 

Sierra and Flynn are falling fast, but they’re both keeping so many secrets. The truth could ruin everything… unless a girl who’s a little bad is perfect for a guy who’s never really been good.

 

 

Amazon  |  Avon Romance  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Google Play  |  iBooks

 

Tour Wide Giveaway:

 

To celebrate the release of NEVER BEEN GOOD, we’re giving away two paperback copies of BAD FOR HER by Christi Barth!

 

GIVEAWAY TERMS & CONDITIONS:  Open to US shipping addresses only. Two winners will each receive a paperback copy of Bad For Her by Christi Barth.  This giveaway is administered by Pure Textuality PR on behalf of Avon Romance.  Giveaway ends 4/16/2018 @ 11:59pm EST. Avon Romance will send the winning copies out to the winner directly. Limit one entry per reader and mailing address.  Duplicates will be deleted.  CLICK HERE TO ENTER!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Christi Barth:

USA Today bestseller Christi Barth earned a Masters degree in vocal performance and embarked upon a career on the stage. A love of romance then drew her to wedding planning. Ultimately she succumbed to her lifelong love of books and now writes award-winning contemporary romance.

 

Christi can always be found either whipping up gourmet meals (for fun, honest!) or with her nose in a book. She lives in Maryland with the best husband in the world.

 

Christi’s Links:

 website facebook twitter goodreads Amazon icon

 

 

 

 

 

This promotion is brought to you by Pure Textuality PR.
PTPR New Logo - Email 2

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-04-12 19:19
TBR Thursday
Heir to the Empire - Timothy Zahn
Just One Damned Thing After Another - Jodi Taylor
Unbuttoned : a History of Mackenzie King's Secret Life - Christopher Dummitt
The Dirty Book Club - Lisi Harrison
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World - Haruki Murakami,Alfred Birnbaum
Lion in the Valley - Elizabeth Peters
Magic's Price - Mercedes Lackey
Smilla's Sense of Snow - Peter Høeg,Tiina Nunnally
Tithe - Holly Black
The Good Women of China: Hidden Voices - Xinran

My TBR pile has got a bit out of control!!

 

First ones due at the library are Heir to the Empire, Just One Damned Thing After Another, and Unbuttoned.  There are also holds on Smilla's Sense of Snow and Tithe, but those dates are further away.  Plus The Good Women of China is an interlibrary loan, so I will have to pay attention to it.

 

Heir to the Empire, Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, and Magic's Price are all part of my Science Fiction and Fantasy Reading Project, which I am enjoying getting back into.

 

My guilty pleasures are Lion in the Valley (Amelia Peacock, I want to see what you're doing in Egypt this time) and Tithe (Holly Black's world of the Fae is calling to me).  But neither of them will count towards any of my reading challenges for 2018.

 

My other task for this weekend is to take a load of books to the used book store to trade and to sort out books to donate to the Calgary Reads Book Sale which will happen in May.  I've got to find some boxes that I can part with to pack, too.  (And then in May I'll attend the book sale and undo some of the good that I have done for my bookshelves).

 

I've also got to bake something to go to brunch on Sunday--I'll probably either make a tried-and-true Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread (http://www.lazyglutenfree.com/2013/06/gluten-free-cinnamon-swirl-banana-bread.html) or I'll try an experimental Pumpkin Pie Crumble (https://www.calgarycoop.com/cooking/pumpkin-pie-crumble). 

 

Have a great weekend, friends!

 

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?