logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: sex-was-good-but
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-20 15:07
The Good Women of China / Xinran
The Good Women of China: Hidden Voices - Xinran

When Deng Xiaoping’s efforts to “open up” China took root in the late 1980s, Xinran recognized an invaluable opportunity. As an employee for the state radio system, she had long wanted to help improve the lives of Chinese women. But when she was given clearance to host a radio call-in show, she barely anticipated the enthusiasm it would quickly generate. Operating within the constraints imposed by government censors, “Words on the Night Breeze” sparked a tremendous outpouring, and the hours of tape on her answering machines were soon filled every night. Whether angry or muted, posing questions or simply relating experiences, these anonymous women bore witness to decades of civil strife, and of halting attempts at self-understanding in a painfully restrictive society. In this collection, by turns heartrending and inspiring, Xinran brings us the stories that affected her most, and offers a graphically detailed, altogether unprecedented work of oral history.

 

This is a heartbreaking book which I would never have picked up except I was looking for an X author for my Women Authors A-Z reading challenge this year. I never know how to rate books like these because it’s important to know about the situations in countries other than our own, but I always feel helpless and angry when I know that women are having such frightful difficulties.

I have to bear in mind that this book was published in 2002 originally, the author having moving from China to England in order to be free to do such a thing. A lot can and probably has changed in 16 years, plus many of the stories related in this book are from earlier years yet.

The Cultural Revolution (1966-1976) seems to have disrupted relations between men and women and the nature of family relationships to an extreme. Survival was top of mind for everyone and each did what they had to. Xinran reveals the painful stories told to her by Chinese women—of having children horribly injured, daughters gang raped, husbands treating them like servants (or livestock), work denied, promotions skipped over, you name it.

As China seems to be heading into another iteration of their authoritarian regime, there will undoubtedly be more issues for women. I hope there is still someone like Xinran to listen to women’s voices and to articulate what they are able to (Xinran herself had to walk a fine line so as not to offend the Communist Party).

In the era of the Me Too and Time’s Up campaigns here in North America, we have to hope that our sisters on other continents are able to achieve some gains as well.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-15 00:23
The Good, the Bad and the Emus
The Good, the Bad, and the Emu - Donna Andrews

It is summer and Meg is trying to cut her bushes and keep her yard nice while watching her four-year-old twin sons and niece, Natalie, who has come to help watch the boys. After she gets cut on her tools when her niece screams, she is in the ER having sutures and Stanley Denton, a friend and PI, comes and asks that she take a trip to a nearby town and help him get in with a woman who is related to the woman that was Meg's grandmother, that has died. When she comes to town she gains admittance to the house and she and Stanley agree that they will try to figure a way to help find out what happened to her grandmother on the cold December night that she was murdered. On the way back to Caerphilly, Denton sees a very large bird that looks either like an emu or an ostrich. When they get back to her parent's place, the information inspires her grandfather, Dr. Blake, to get the group together and go rescue the birds and take them to Carolyn's sanctuary. While they are there, a man is poisoned by scotch he put in his coffee, that had been a gift to her grandfather and someone left candies at her cousin's home. The sheriff is trying to find out who murdered Cordelia, who attempted to poison Dr. Blake and who tried to poison Meg's cousin. At the same time, they go out and try to find the birds. It is a very fun story and there was a moment in the book where she talks about her friend keeping paperwork handy for the "frequent fliers'" to the emergency room. I remember those times and not nearly as fondly as I could. Although we can now laugh about some of the things that landed us there. 

 

The books were read out of order, but that is the beauty of these stories, they are great in order or out of order. 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-14 21:21
Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! The Good for Nothing Button! - Mo Willems,Charise Mericle Harper,Mo Willems,Charise Mericle Harper
For more reviews, check out my blog: Craft-Cycle

This is a cute idea for a book. I like how it expands on the Elephant and Piggie universe. The story itself is funny, but I wouldn't say it's as good as the actual Elephant and Piggie books. The concept was too circular and it doesn't really go anywhere. But it is still a fun read. 

Nice illustrations. I love all of the facial expressions. 

Plus, Gerald, Piggie, and the Pigeon all make an appearance in the book, which is fun. 

A cute read for fans of Gerald and Piggie. 
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2018-04-13 22:47
Awful Darth Vader NNOOOOOOO!!!!
Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #25 - Kyle Higgins,Daniele "Kota" di Nicuolo,Matt Herms

 

 

 

A Power Ranger comic is NEVER SUPPOSED TO MAKE YOU CRY!!!! Why?!?!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-04-13 07:10
Blog Tour - Never Been Good

 

About the Book:

 

Never Been Good
by Christi Barth

Series: Bad Boys Gone Good #2

Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Avon Impulse

Publication Date: April 3, 2018

 

 

 

 

Flynn Maguire isn’t really a bad guy. Sure, he worked for the mob, but he ran a legitimate business—on paper anyway—and it paid enough to keep his brother out of the lifestyle. Until they turned on him. Now he’s stuck in Witness Protection, tending bar in Nowheresville Oregon… and pissed the life he knew is gone.

 

The only bright spot? Fantasizing about his quiet, secretive, beautiful coworker.

 

Sierra Williams is a woman on the run. All she wants now is to settle into small town life… and ignore the brooding, sexy bartender who can’t seem to take his eyes off her. Flynn’s bad-boy vibe pushes all her buttons, but Sierra fell for the wrong man once already. She can’t afford to let her guard down again. Except Flynn’s tough exterior is slowly melting away to reveal the sweet man beneath and their attraction is too strong to resist.

 

Sierra and Flynn are falling fast, but they’re both keeping so many secrets. The truth could ruin everything… unless a girl who’s a little bad is perfect for a guy who’s never really been good.

 

 

Amazon  |  Avon Romance  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Google Play  |  iBooks

 

Tour Wide Giveaway:

 

To celebrate the release of NEVER BEEN GOOD, we’re giving away two paperback copies of BAD FOR HER by Christi Barth!

 

GIVEAWAY TERMS & CONDITIONS:  Open to US shipping addresses only. Two winners will each receive a paperback copy of Bad For Her by Christi Barth.  This giveaway is administered by Pure Textuality PR on behalf of Avon Romance.  Giveaway ends 4/16/2018 @ 11:59pm EST. Avon Romance will send the winning copies out to the winner directly. Limit one entry per reader and mailing address.  Duplicates will be deleted.  CLICK HERE TO ENTER!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Christi Barth:

USA Today bestseller Christi Barth earned a Masters degree in vocal performance and embarked upon a career on the stage. A love of romance then drew her to wedding planning. Ultimately she succumbed to her lifelong love of books and now writes award-winning contemporary romance.

 

Christi can always be found either whipping up gourmet meals (for fun, honest!) or with her nose in a book. She lives in Maryland with the best husband in the world.

 

Christi’s Links:

 website facebook twitter goodreads Amazon icon

 

 

 

 

 

This promotion is brought to you by Pure Textuality PR.
PTPR New Logo - Email 2

 

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?