logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Boleyn Deceit - Laura Andersen
The Boleyn Deceit
by: (author)
4.00 80
Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, who must navigate a terrain rife with palace intrigue, impending war, and unbridled... show more
Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, who must navigate a terrain rife with palace intrigue, impending war, and unbridled passions.   The regency period is over and William Tudor, now King Henry IX, sits alone on the throne. But England must still contend with those who doubt his legitimacy, both in faraway lands and within his own family. To diffuse tensions and appease the Catholics, William is betrothed to a young princess from France, but still he has eyes for only his childhood friend Minuette, and court tongues are wagging.    Even more scandalous—and dangerous, if discovered—is that Minuette’s heart and soul belong to Dominic, William’s best friend and trusted advisor. Minuette must walk a delicate balance between her two suitors, unable to confide in anyone, not even her friend Elizabeth, William’s sister, who must contend with her own cleaved heart. In this irresistible tale, the secrets that everyone keeps are enough to change the course of an empire.   Praise for Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn King   “A sumptuous, vividly imagined novel of a Boleyn king’s fateful rise to power amid the treacherous glamour of the Tudor court.”—C. W. Gortner, author of The Queen’s Vow   “Fans of both Stephenie Meyer and Philippa Gregory will find much to love in this evocative and well-written debut.”—Francine Mathews, author of Jack 1939   Includes a preview of Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn Reckoning   Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780345534118 (0345534115)
ASIN: 345534115
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Pages no: 416
Edition language: English
Series: The Boleyn Trilogy (#2)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Debbie's Spurts
Debbie's Spurts rated it
2.0 Well, if looking for a 16th century romance between two super-special perfect nobles ...
...this might appeal. Looking for more of the Boleyns and the Tutdors -- not so much, Fictional Minuette -- all that is stereotypically appealing in a female plus while in a postion of servitude to Princess Elizabeth able to leave service for months at a time including to her very own property co...
Nothing better than a good book...
Nothing better than a good book... rated it
4.0 The Boleyn Deceit
Nice follow up. The story progresses nicely with some fairly complicated court intrigue. King William is still in love with Minuette, his childhood friend. So, unfortunately, is his right hand, Dominic. Someone is still trying to usurp William and by extension hurt and control him through harmin...
The Book-Addled Brain
The Book-Addled Brain rated it
3.0 The Boleyn Deceit
The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel - Laura Andersen What if Anne Boleyn had produced a male heir to the Tudor throne? The thought is fascinating to ponder, so I was eager to dive into The Boleyn Deceit, generously provided by NetGalley for review. I found The Boleyn Deceit quite enjoyable, but it was ...
AbibliophobicTendencies♥
AbibliophobicTendencies♥ rated it
3.0 The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel
Boleyn DeceitLaura Anderson★☆★I liked this book. I enjoyed the Era and I am a huge fan of this time period.But I have never read the first book, son I felt pretty lost. It is not one meant to be standalone. I am going to go back and read the first novel then read this novel again. That way I won't b...
Kathryn Lively, Reader
Kathryn Lively, Reader rated it
4.0 The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel
ARC received from the publisher via NetGalley.The Boleyn Deceit picks up where its predecessor, The Boleyn King, leave off. In my review of the first book, I incorrectly identified the king as William - he is called William in private but is known as Henry IX of England. Two years or so have passed ...
Other editions (6)
Books by Laura Andersen
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?