logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Boleyn King - Laura Andersen
The Boleyn King
by: (author)
3.65 150
Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?   Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William,... show more
Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?   Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William’s mother, Anne Boleyn.   Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king’s desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England’s fortunes forever.   Includes a preview of Laura Andersen’s The Boleyn DeceitPraise for The Boleyn King   “Imaginative . . . Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that’s reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory.”—Library Journal (starred review)   “Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans.”—Booklist (starred review)   “A surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read.”—Historical Novels Review   “Andersen’s novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados. . . . Her multidimensional characters are so real that readers will wish it was history and eagerly await the next in the trilogy.”—RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)   “A wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love.”—Deseret News   “ ‘What if . . .’ With these tantalizing words, Laura Andersen creates a fresh and vividly realized alternative world where Anne Boleyn not only lives, but also gives birth to a healthy son who will become King. With the introduction of Minuette, Princess Elizabeth’s lady-in-waiting, we meet an extraordinary young woman who embodies love and loyalty, and who fights to find the humanity at the heart of the most glamorous—and dangerous—court in Europe.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill’s Secretary   “Full of intrigue, conspiracies, and the accurate details so essential to good historical fiction . . . Anyone who has even the slightest fascination with the Tudors will want to devour this delectable novel in a single sitting.”—Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Floating City   “The Boleyn King deftly blends compelling characters, flawless social history, and courtly romance into an enthralling tale that’s impossible to put down.”—Stefanie Pintoff, Edgar Award–winning author of Secret of the White RoseLook for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9780345534095 (0345534093)
ASIN: 345534093
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Pages no: 358
Edition language: English
Series: The Boleyn Trilogy (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Debbie's Spurts
Debbie's Spurts rated it
0.0 Review of "The Boleyn King"
Not what I expected and very little seemed "Tudor" or "Boleyn." More just another historical romance. Pretty ordinary for the genre. Eventually -- according to book descriptions -- series moves more into Elizabeth Tudor; I might like those books more. There was little of Henry VIII and Anne Bo...
Sorry kids, no feet.
Sorry kids, no feet. rated it
4.0
I am not typically a fan of historical fiction that completely stretches the truth so it fits the author's desired story. History by itself is interesting enough without twisting the truth. This book falls under the category of something completely different. I can't get mad about the historical ina...
Nothing better than a good book...
Nothing better than a good book... rated it
4.0 Not bad...
The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king? Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. Wi...
SusannaG - Confessions of a Crazy Cat Lady
SusannaG - Confessions of a Crazy Cat Lady rated it
3.0 The Boleyn King
It was ... OK. (And it should have been subtitled "Everyone Loves Minuette.") I was interested in this one because of the "alternate history" angle ("Anne Boleyn bears a son, and lives. Henry had only two wives.") - what is there is interesting, but I was disappointed Andersen did not do more wi...
Khanh the Killjoy
Khanh the Killjoy rated it
2.0 Off with her head!
Dear Anne Boleyn: I'm so sorry for the way you died. I hated the way you were branded witch, whore, traitor; I shudder in horror at how you died, beheaded, reviled by a nation, betrayed by your own husband. But man, the alternative if you had lived is so fucking dull. After your death, you've bee...
Other editions (7)
Books by Laura Andersen
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?