logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Deepest Night - Shana Abe
The Deepest Night
by: (author)
4.11 190
A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a... show more
A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.   As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.   Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.   With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.   Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780345531735 (0345531736)
Publisher: Bantam
Pages no: 320
Edition language: English
Series: The Sweetest Dark (#2)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Reading Teen
Reading Teen rated it
5.0 The Deepest Night
Naked. Naked Naked Naked. Ironically, what comes to mind first when I think of this book is that two of the main characters seemed to be naked all the time. At least, when they weren’t dragons. And it wasn’t like they were having sex, either. They just happened to get used to be naked, because switc...
Book Drunk Sloth
Book Drunk Sloth rated it
4.0 The Deepest Night
This was a good sequel. As an adult reading a YA novel though, everything was very short. I fell in love with Armand in the previous book and my heart just hurt for his pain in this book. Jesse had been just too perfect in the previous book. Lora and Armand's adventure was very exciting. I can't wai...
Emily S
Emily S rated it
*Many thanks to Bantam and NetGalley for allowing early access to this title*If you're looking for an absolutely gorgeous book, look no further than The Deepest Night. It's a stunning follow up to The Sweetest Dark, which I loved almost more than words. We're back in Lora and Armand's world, smack i...
Bows & Bullets Book Blog
Bows & Bullets Book Blog rated it
4.0
Eleanore Jones has always been different and she finally knows why. It is because she is a dragon. Seriously people, it is because she can transform into a dragon. While she is still devastated by Jesse’s untimely death, she tries to carry on with her life at Iverson’s, the boarding school she at...
GizmosReviews
GizmosReviews rated it
*Genre* Historical Fantasy*Rating* 3.5-4*My Thoughts*The Deepest Night has been sitting on my Kindle for awhile now in an effort to get caught up on my reading. Now that I think about it, I should have probably read this book immediately after finishing The Sweetest Dark so that things were fresh in...
Other editions (3)
Books by Shana Abe
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?