logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Sweetest Dark - Shana Abe
The Sweetest Dark
by: (author)
3.96 290
For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.   “With every fiber of my being, I... show more
For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.   “With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”   Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.   England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.   Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.   Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.“A wonderfully refreshing story of self-discovery, love, courage—and dragons . . . I was enchanted.”—Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely
show less
Format: hardcover
ISBN: 9780345531704 (0345531701)
Publisher: Bantam
Pages no: 352
Edition language: English
Series: The Sweetest Dark (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
The All Night Library
The All Night Library rated it
4.0 The Sweetest Dark
There are monsters living beside you right now. We were told that monsters are a myth but they do exist. They look just like us when they want to, but they are really monsters made of smoke, colors and claws called the Dra’kon. The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe is the story of one of the last Dra’kon.T...
Bonnie's Books
Bonnie's Books rated it
3.0
I received this book through a Goodreads giveaway.When a book is compared to Libba Brays' Gemma Doyle series, it better deliver the goods. But The Sweetest Dark is just another typical YA paranormal romance, complete with a love triangle. I liked the fact that this was set during WWI, a setting you ...
Between the Pages
Between the Pages rated it
2.0
I wanted to love this book so badly, especially because it has DRAGONS in it and I love dragons! But sadly, we never hit it off.I really struggled with Lora as a main character, I couldn't connect to her and I actually didn't think she was a very nice person. I get that growing up the way she did, s...
Heartless Lyn @ Great Imaginations
Heartless Lyn @ Great Imaginations rated it
2.0
The Sweetest Dark was tempting, and I loved the description from the start (even if it seems to be a repeat of the majority of YA lit). Gothic, orphanage, and England - dream come true. I even overlooked the entire "two boys" plot. And THAT, right there, should have been a large red flag.Lora Jon...
On Starships and Dragonwings
On Starships and Dragonwings rated it
4.5
The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abé was an unexpected delight. The blend of dragons, stars, World War I, and finishing school was just a blast to read. I definitely didn’t realize The Sweetest Dark was so heavy on the fantasy, but it showed me just how much I can love historical fantasy if it contains th...
Other editions (4)
Books by Shana Abe
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?