logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Dragon Round - Stephen S. Power
The Dragon Round
by: (author)
3.29 35
A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik—when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted island by his mutinous crew, he finds a baby dragon that just might be the key to his salvation…and his revenge.He only wanted justice. Instead he got revenge.... show more
A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik—when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted island by his mutinous crew, he finds a baby dragon that just might be the key to his salvation…and his revenge.He only wanted justice. Instead he got revenge. Jeryon has been the captain of the Comber for over a decade. He knows the rules. He likes the rules. But not everyone on his ship agrees. After a monstrous dragon attacks the galley, the surviving crewmembers decide to take the ship for themselves and give Jeryon and his self-righteous apothecary “the captain’s chance”: a small boat with no rudder, no sails, and nothing but the clothes on his back to survive on the open sea. Fighting for their lives against the elements, Jeryon and his companion land on an island that isn’t as deserted as they originally thought. They find a baby dragon that, if trained, could be their way home. But as Jeryon and the dragon grow closer, the captain begins to realize that even if he makes it off the island, his old life won't be waiting for him and in order get justice, he’ll have to take it for himself. From a Pushcart Prize–nominated poet and speculative short story writer, The Dragon Round combines a rich world, desperate characters, and gorgeous, literary fiction into a timeless tale of revenge.
show less
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9781501133206 (1501133209)
ASIN: 1501133209
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Pages no: 336
Edition language: English
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Fee's Fleeting Thoughts
Fee's Fleeting Thoughts rated it
4.0 My Review of The Dragon Round
I received a copy of The Dragon Round from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power is a story about mutiny and revenge. I found this story to be intriguing and full of suspense. It is written well, and the characters are very vivid. I...
Inked Brownies
Inked Brownies rated it
2.0 The Dragon Round
Well, well, well. Loved the cover, loved the premise. Swashbuckling adventures and dragons? YES SIR THANK YOU SIR!! You can probably feel it coming, though; the dreaded ‘but‘…I’ve been thinking for a couple of days on how to review this one. Eventually, I decided to divide it into three sections: Pa...
Url Phantomhive
Url Phantomhive rated it
2.5 The Dragon Round
First, I want to say that I completely love the cover. The colours work wonderful and it immediately caught my eye and would certainly also do so in a book store. Yes, I'll even admit I wanted to read this book mainly because I liked the cover so much. At least I'm honest about it. After an encoun...
Word Gurgle
Word Gurgle rated it
3.0 The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power
T I T L E: The Dragon Round A U T H O R: Stephen S. Power P U B L I S H E R: Simon and Schuster P U B L I S H--D A T E: July 5, 2016 ISBN: 9781501133206 Fantasy A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik—when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted i...
A Throne of Books
A Throne of Books rated it
3.5 The Dragon Round Review
*I received a copy of the book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.* The Dragon Round gave me conflicting feelings all the way through. The writing wasn't my favorite too much he did this, he said that, for my tastes. And of course as others have said it was over detailed at times. The...
Other editions (2)
Books by Stephen S. Power
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?