logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Adam-Selzer
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-09-01 00:00
Play Me Backwards
Play Me Backwards - Adam Selzer For fans of Andrew Smith's WINGER and GRASSHOPPER JUNGLE comes the latest YA novel by Adam Selzer. PLAY ME BACKWARDS is a hysterical look at the senior year of a slacker named Leon Harris.

The plain and simple truth is, I loved Leon Harris. Yes, he's the protagonist, and you're supposed to like the protagonist, right? Well, Leon is a screw-up, a loser, a slacker, a slob, and sometimes a complete idiot. I loved him anyway.

It takes a kick in the crotch from his ex-girlfriend in England to get Leon to realize all of these things about himself. And when he does, he goes to his BFF Stan for advice. Stan gives him a couple of crazy quests, and Leon sets out on a journey to change his life over the course of his senior year in high school. Of course, he really has no idea that anything is going to change.

Slowly but surely, Leon becomes less of an idiot that screwed up his current life and his entire future. Leon still remains very much himself, though. ""If I ever stop laughing when people say 'balls,' I'll know my heart is dead,"" Leon thinks in chapter 25. I wouldn't say Leon learns a lot about himself over the course of the story, but he does learn to keep what makes him *Leon* intact in the face of preppy girlfriends, parents threatening to kill you with butcher knives, and the eternal threat of not graduating.

Leon also learns a lot about love and relationships. He's not the most experienced with girls, and his nervousness with sexual situations is a refreshing change from contemporary YA in which male sexuality isn't really addressed at all.

""Love is like fitting two puzzle pieces from two different puzzles together.""

This book is the story of Leon trying to fit into puzzles he doesn't belong in. It's laugh-out-loud funny, and the too sticky-sweet kind of gross. And you want to read it. Trust me on this one. Or better yet, trust Satan-ahem, I mean Stan.

""You'll thank me later,"" said Stan. ""You'll see. Thus begins the resurrection of Leon.""
Like Reblog Comment
text 2014-03-19 12:00
Waiting On Wednesday: Play Me Backwards
 
Play Me Backwards
Author: Adam Selzer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Expected Publication: August 26, 2014
Goodreads

Synopsis:
A promising and popular student in middle school, Leon Harris has become a committed "slacker" but with graduation approaching and his middle school girlfriend possibly returning to town, Leon's best friend Stan, who claims to be Satan, helps him get back on the right track--for a price.
My Thoughts: I can't pinpoint just one reason this book speaks to me. maybe it's the three devil-horn wearing friends on the cover, the morphing of Leon from something to slacker, the best friend Stan who calls himself Satan. I can't pick just one reason I want to read this book because everything make me want to read it! 
Like Reblog Comment
review 2013-08-07 17:54
I read this book and I liked it - Nachdem ich mich mit Hauptperson Alley angefreundet hatte
I kissed a Zombie and I liked it - Adam Selzer,Birgit Reß-Bohusch

Die 18-jährige Alley Rhodes braucht kein »Twilight«, um zu wissen, wie das so läuft mit Vampiren. Schon vor Jahren sind Vampire, Werwölfe und andere untote Kreaturen aus ihren Särgen gekrochen und Teil ihres Alltags geworden. Ein Vampirfreund ist das ultimative Statussymbol, der Gothic-Look absolut in – doch nicht für Alley. Denn mal ehrlich: Wer will schon einen Kerl, der nie erwachsen wird? Der völlig egozentrisch ist und dabei auch noch launisch? Doch dann begegnet ihr Doug. Der ist vor vier Jahren gestorben, trägt immer noch denselben Anzug und erobert ihr Herz. Alleys Vorsätze sind dahin, und sie muss sich entscheiden, ob sie einen Zombie lieben kann.

 

Bei diesem Buch war es mal nicht das Cover, sondern der Titel, der mich ansprach. Ich halte Zombies immer noch für eine besondere Spezies inmitten der Vampire und Werwölfe in der Bücherwelt. Eine Liebesgeschichte mit einem Zombie war für mich obendrein ziemlich undenkbar. Diese Wesen kennt man ja doch eher als unappetitlich.
So gesehen bietet diese Geschichte also durchaus Erfrischendes.
Trotzdem hat sie bei mir einen sehr zwiegespaltenen Eindruck hinterlassen. Das liegt in erster Linie daran, dass ich zu Alley lange keinen Draht fand. Sie erzählt zwar ganz witzig, aber vom Wesen her war sie mir eine ganze Spur zu obercool, naseweis, großmäulig und arrogant. Allesamt Eigenschaften, die ich nicht schätze.
Da kam mir Zombie Doug ganz gelegen, denn indem dass sich Alley in ihn verliebt ändern sich ihr Verhalten und ihre Sichtweisen deutlich.
Verblüfft war ich allerdings auch. Alley kam mir zuvor nicht wie ein Mädchen vor, dass sich nur wegen gutem Aussehen und der Tatsache, dass ein Typ zwei ihrer Lieblingslieder singt, Hals über Kopf in ihn verliebt.
Und mehr bietet Doug auch nicht, wenn man es genau betrachtet. Er ist noch nett und aufmerksam, aber viel Charakter findet man bei ihm sonst nicht.
Ebenso vergeblich sucht man bei dieser Geschichte nach einer gewissen Romantik. Es muss für mich gewiss nicht zwischen den Seiten hervor triefen, aber wenn man so verknallt ist wie Alley es stets betont, dann wäre die eine oder andere romantische Passagen doch ganz passig und völlig gerechtfertigt!
Von Doug geht in dieser Hinsicht noch weniger aus. Aber dass er charakterlich so blass daher kommt wie seine Hautfarbe, das erwähnte ich ja schon. Wie soll so jemand Romantik heraufbeschwören?
Dennoch: ab Alleys und Dougs Lovestory kam ich mit der Geschichte wesentlich besser klar als zuvor. Das war viel wert, denn wäre sie so geblieben wie zu Beginn, hätte ich das Buch womöglich abgebrochen.

 

Da die 18jährige Alley selber erzählt, ist ein jugendlich-lockerer Erzählstil gegeben. Das macht das Lesen ausgesprochen leicht und die Geschichte liest sich so flott weg. Für einen Teenie-Roman ist das so ideal.

 

Mal ehrlich: Doug hat eine geradezu erstaunliche Ähnlichkeit mit einem gewissen glitzernden Vampir, oder? Wo ist bitte der in der Geschichte so oft erwähnte Gothic-Look? Nein, mit diesem Foto kann ich nichts anfangen. Da bekommt man mal etwas über eine noch wenig behandelte übersinnliche Spezies zu lesen und dann guckt einen vom Cover her ein Edward-Double an! Da hätte ich das Cover der englischen Version klar beevorzugt.

 

Fazit: Insgesamt eine ganz vergnügliche Lektüre für junge Fans von Geschichten um die Liebe zu einem übersinnlichen Wesen. Ich musste mich mit Alley erst anfreunden, was mich anfangs gut ausgebremst hat, aber vielleicht sind die jungen Leser ja weniger kritisch was ihre Darstellung anbetrifft. Dann dürfte nichts schief gehen.

Source: leserattz.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/rezension-i-kissed-a-zombie-and-i-liked-it-adam-selzer
Like Reblog Comment
quote 2013-06-05 07:11
When you're dead, everything in the world is like a song that makes you cry.
I Kissed a Zombie, and I Liked It - Adam Selzer

― Adam Selzer, I Kissed a Zombie, and I Liked It

Like Reblog Comment
review 2013-02-07 00:00
I Kissed a Zombie, and I Liked It - Adam Selzer I loved this book. Still wondering how someone would not notice she is dating a zombie, I mean there were enough hints, but yet she didn't know until her friends told her and she asked him.
But I love the romance, they really were made for each other, and she even wanted to consider becoming a zombie for him.

The ending had me crying a bit though. So sad. :(
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?