logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Mark-West
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-10-19 09:57
The GLUE Club...
The Factory - Mark West

The Factory is a novella about a group of friends that took up urban exploring of old abandoned buildings when they were in college and formed a group called the Gaffney Legendary Urban Explorers Club a.k.a. the GLUE Club. When one of their group members dies suddenly they all reunite for the funeral. To honor their friend's memory, they all decide to go exploring the one building that they've talked about for years because of the rumors that swirled around it, but weren't able to explore before, because it's always been heavily guarded. Now though, the building has been put up for sale and the guards removed, so the GLUE Club finally finds a way in- but getting out isn't as easy!!!

 

I'm fascinated with urban exploring and if I lived in a bigger city that had urban exploring groups I would immediately take it up as a hobby. So when I saw this novella was about urban explorers I was thrilled to death. It was a pretty intense story and I loved the old factory setting. I thought the parallel story line that was presented through the supernatural elements, about the factory workers and its owner, was also done very well.

 

My only complaint is that it wasn't long enough. That's just a personal thing though that I have with novellas. I never feel like I have enough time to really get to know the characters and as soon as I start getting into the story-it's over.

 

If you don't mind reading novellas and are in the mood for a quick scare, I would highly recommend checking this one out. 

 

*I read this for my 2016 Halloween Bingo: ~Read By Candlelight or Flashlight~ square. I read it this weekend, late at night, in complete darkness, with only a small headlamp similar to what they use for exploring and that added even more creepiness to the story- where they saw shadows in the factory, I was seeing shadows in my recreation room too. : ) That was a lot of fun! If you read this story, you should definitely try it!

 

Candlelight or Flashlight

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2016-10-02 16:28
The Factory by Mark West
The Factory - Mark West

The Factory was a nasty little stroll through, (you guessed it!), an abandoned factory.

 

Four old friends meet up for the funeral of the fifth member of their group. Back in their school days, all 5 would get together and go on urban exploring trips. Urban Exploring (Urbex, as this group calls it), is the inspection of abandoned buildings, preferably at night, since technically it's an illegal activity. As a tribute to their recently deceased mate, they decide to explore the factory that HE had always wanted to check out when he was alive. As you may have guessed, everything did not work out for the best. To find out exactly what happened, you'll have to read this book.

 

This novella was packed full of atmosphere. I mean, really, what better place for a haunting than an old abandoned factory? Especially one that was known to have employed children? Everything is covered with layers of dust and strange noises own the night. Our plucky explorers think they have a handle on everything because they have flashlights and radios. They could not have been more wrong.

 

The ending packed one heck of a punch. Usually stories of hauntings fall short for me at the denouement, but not this one. It did not flinch away from what needed to be done and faced it head on. Bravo!

 

Recommended for fans of haunting stories, both in the haunted house sense and in the sense that this story may stay with you for weeks to come.

 

*I received a free e-copy if this book in exchange for my honest review. This is it.*

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-12-04 15:59
The Lost Film by Stephen Bacon and Mark West
The Lost Film - Mark West,Stephen Bacon

 

Two novellas are collected in this volume: Lantern Rock by Stephen Bacon and The Lost Film by Mark West. The two stories are loosely connected by lost films, and in both cases, it probably would have been better that the films were never found.

 

Lantern Rock by Stephen Bacon was a cool story, chock full of atmosphere. It reminded me somewhat of the stories of M.R. James and James is even mentioned in this novella. I'm not going to get into the plot here, I rarely do, but I will say that despite starting off in a rather mundane way, this tale ramped up to full scale scares, reminding me of this:

I enjoyed this story a lot and it was my favorite of the two.

 

 

 

The Lost Film by Mark West was also a neat story featuring a private eye searching for a reclusive filmmaker. Despite numerous warnings to back off, Gabriel Bird, P.I. continues on his search. Sometimes, when something is lost, it's best that it stay lost. "I discovered the power of God and realized that I didn't like it." This is a quote from the book that struck me and brought home the whole "Be careful what you wish for" theme. I found the ending to this novella to be a bit abrupt, but after mulling it over for a moment, I thought it perfect.

 

I enjoyed these two novellas and I liked the idea of linking them together through film. With the first being reminiscent of an M. R. James story and the second reminding me a little of Robert Chambers' The King in Yellow, one could do much worse than spending a weekend reading these creepy tales.

 

Recommended for fans of M.R. James and Robert Chambers!

 

You can purchase this book here: http://www.pendragonpress.net/

 

*I received a free e-ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review. This is it!*

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2015-12-02 19:56
Reading progress update: I've read 133 out of 304 pages of The Lost Film and...
The Lost Film - Mark West,Stephen Bacon

 

my lunch hour ended and I had to stop reading, just when I was so close to the end! (This book consists of two novellas, and I'm right at the end of the first one.)

 

I was all:

 

 

and then I was all: 

 

 

Like Reblog Comment
review 2015-09-02 14:22
A Quick Review of Drive
Drive - Mark West

Very well written but almost traumatically dark and horrific.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?