logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Poetry
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2019-02-16 07:50
Reading progress update: I've read 850 out of 1102 pages.
Complete Poems, 1904-1962 - E.E. Cummings

On to "Uncollected Poems."

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-02-16 06:51
Earliest English Poems, Michael Alexander (Trans.)
The Earliest English Poems - Various Authors,Michael Alexander

Alexander makes accessible poems that cannot be understood by native speakers of modern English without significant time and effort. Poems that nevertheless form the foundation of poetry in English and provide a window on the Anglo-Saxon world, its history, culture and values. This collection, despite its modest size, shows the range of modes and interests of Anglo-Saxon verse. Fragments such as The Battle of Maldon also make me wonder how much great literature has been lost irretreivably - a sad thought.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-02-15 03:34
The Mermaid's Voice Returns in this One - Amanda Lovelace

I received an e-ARC of this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  

 

This book is really similar to the other two books in this series. So if you liked those, then you’ll probably like this one. That being said, I still think her first book is the strongest. 

 

The subject matter of the book is very timely. A large majority of the poems center on the Me Too movement. 

 

 

The theme of this book is mermaids/The Little Mermaid story. However, there wasn’t a lot of actual mermaid inspired poems. She seemed to revert back to princesses/queens and fairy tales in general. Given the focus on Me Too/sexual assault, there could have been a lot done with The Little Mermaid theme. To me it felt like a missed opportunity. 

 

This collection also contains some guest poems from other poets and I loved that addition. It added some variety and it worked well with the Me Too message because it showed strength in numbers. 

 

I did enjoy a lot of the poems. There were some that really spoke to me. I did love that one of her poems was an homage to The Chronicles of Narnia, which is one of my favorite book series of all time.  

 

Overall, this collection is perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace. If you’re looking for something different from her, you may want to skip this one. 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2019-02-14 16:57
Reading progress update: I've read 53 out of 259 pages.
The Essential Shakespeare - Ted Hughes The Essential Shakespeare - Ted Hughes

This Intro has now officially out-stayed its welcome - luckily only 7p to go.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2019-02-09 12:06
Reading progress update: I've read 30 out of 259 pages.
The Essential Shakespeare - Ted Hughes The Essential Shakespeare - Ted Hughes

If Shakespeare made up so many words, how did anybody understand them?

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?