logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Trope-Captive-Heroine
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2014-06-16 21:35
And we're done.
Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 5) - J.R. Ward

During a check-up on a critically injured gun-shot patient, Dr. Jane Whitcomb discovers three large men hell-bent on removing him from the hospital. Almost immediately, Jane finds herself abducted and held prisoner in a large mansion working as the group's personal doctor.

After reading this book I can officially say that I'm done with this series. I hate captive heroine plots and I think that's why I quickly got burned out on the Black Dagger Brotherhood books. (Three out of the four novels I read featured this trope.) I'm also tired of the cliched traits of the Brotherhood constantly being shoved down my throat. I get it, they wear shit-kickers and listen to rap therefore they're a hardcore and edgy group. I don't need it repeated to me constantly.

However, I will give it to Ward. She's not afraid to stick to her guns when it comes to maintaining previously established character traits for her heroes. Zsadist was someone who couldn't find pleasure without pain, Rhage had to sleep with a regular assortment of women for his curse, and, in this one, Vishous was heavily into BDSM. Ward didn't tone down these character kinks when it came time to feature these guys in their own books. So, even though none of those really worked for me, I give her credit for not softening those aspects.

 

I would recommend this one to fans of the series, but...I'm done.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2014-01-24 17:16
Obsidian
Obsidian - Laurann Dohner

Dr. Allison Baker has a creepy fixation on one of her coma patients and is disturbed when it's decided that the patient should be taken off life support. Acting like the rational and professional doctor she is, Allison decides to kidnap her coma patient and hide out with him at a cabin in the woods. Luckily for her, Allison's crack-pot idea of how to wake her patient works and he develops a fixation on her.

 

I clearly have a problem. Every time I pick-up one of these New Species books I know that the main characters and inevitable kidnapping/rape attempt of the heroine is going to annoy the crap out of me... and yet I can't seem to stop reading this series. The writing can get repetitive and Dohner is bad about only telling and not showing, but I can't stop reading these books. This series clearly has some kind of mystical power over me because despite my multiple hang-ups with this installment I'm still looking forward to reading the next one.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review SPOILER ALERT! 2014-01-23 00:48
Why must there be an unncessary H in his name?
Lover Eternal - J.R. Ward

After killing a deity's bird, Rhage was cursed to share his body with a dragon. Keeping the dragon under control is something Rhage has to deal with on a daily basis and it often consists of having to do things he'd otherwise never do. When Rhage meets Mary, he is instantly attracted to her but the curse puts a huge obstacle in their courtship.

I really adored Rhage. However, the reason why this is getting a mid-level rating is that I can't reconcile Rhage's choice to go out and sleep with a shit ton of women while he had Mary waiting for him at home. This stemmed from Rhage needing to regain control of the dragon, so it was painted in a way that he had to go screw other women. While I will give Ward kudos for not taking an easy route, it still put a really sour taste in my mouth. I can't stand cheating heroes and I wasn't convinced that Rhage had exhausted all other possibilities, which really pissed me off. I also felt that Mary got over it way to quick. I mean he comes home from having sex with who knows how many women and she almost immediately gets over it upon seeing his sad face....really? I think she should've been a little more conflicted about that whole situation. Other than that, I generally enjoyed Lover Eternal. My only other wish is that Mary had been given more personality since she came off as a very flat character, but I'm beginning to think that's typical of Ward's heroines.

Like Reblog Comment
review 2014-01-20 01:31
Hell Hound investigates a murder in a blizzard
Frostbound - Sharon Ashwood

Vampire, Talia comes home one evening to find her cousin dead on the living room floor. The police have a bad reputation of seeing a vampire near any murder scene and immediately deciding they're guilty. Talia knows, that despite her innocence, the police will look no further than her fangs and she immediately decides to run. Before she can make it out of the apartment building, she's intercepted by the hell-hound called Lore. Lore also knows that, if caught, Talia won't get a fair trial, but he's not entirely convinced of her innocence. Until he's positive she didn't do it, Lore decides to keep Talia locked up in his own improvised prison. Eventually, they both have to work together to find out who is killing supernatural beings.

Honestly, Frostbound was a good time. I've mentioned before that I hate captive heroine stories, but it was done pretty well here. Talia wasn't kept locked up for long and Lore caught a lot of shit from both her and his friends for doing it in the first place.


There were basically two things that really made this book for me. The first was the blizzard/winter setting. I love winter settings. I also really enjoyed the hell-hound mythology that went into the book. You don't see it done very often and I have to say the hell-hounds here were pretty kick-ass.

 

My only issue was that there wasn't a lot of world building, which made certain areas of the story confusing, as I hadn't read any of the other novels in the series. However, I think Frostbound still stood well on its own.

Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series and Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress series will probably find something to love in this book.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2014-01-19 01:55
Mean heroine meets tiger shifter who gets turned on by mean women
Here Kitty, Kitty! - Shelly Laurenston

Shelly Laurenston likes to write her heroines bitchy...and it oddly works for me.

 

Angie is kidnapped by two well-meaning tiger shifters and dropped off at their brother's house. Not knowing that his brothers have just unleashed a violent woman in his house, Nikolai is at first pleased to find the dark haired woman in his bedroom... until she knocks him out with a toilet seat. After finally wrangling her into a closet, Nikolai discovers that his relatives have just kidnapped a close friend of the Magnus pack's alpha female. Trying to make amends for the screw-up, Nikolai agrees to let Angie stay with him until the pack takes care of an issue they're having.

Angie isn't too happy finding herself surrounded by a bunch of tigers, but she twists the situation enough to suit her. The only problem she finds with her current predicament is just how attracted she is to Nikolai. She's never been interested in men except for sex, so the pull she feels towards Nik flat out disturbs her. It doesn't help that Nik feels the same pull or that his two brothers are also interested in Angie. I loved seeing Nik's two brothers constantly hitting on Angie, especially their odd techniques in trying to woo her.

My only problem with Here Kitty Kitty was the odd resolution to Nik and Angie's romance. It wasn't as frustrating as Go Fetch!'s but I felt like it broke the tone of the rest of the book. If you're fan of Laurenston's Pride series you should pick this one up. Otherwise, I think you really have to be in the mood for Laurenston's odd brand of romance and humor.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?