logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: book-library
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2020-07-31 04:34
Lifeboat 12
Lifeboat 12 - Susan Hood

Audience: Grades 4 & up

Format: Audiobook/Library

 

I shouldn't do it.

- first line

This book is based on a true story of kids that were travelling on the SS City of Benares to Canada to escape the Nazi bombing of London. When the ship is torpedoed, Ken (13) and other survivors are left on Lifeboat 12 in the middle of the ocean. It's the little details in this book that make it so impactful. Ken was supposed to be on a different lifeboat, the young woman who makes up stories for the boys, the one sailor who acts crazy to make everyone laugh.
The story is told in verse, so I recommend reading a written copy more than the audio (or maybe both together). The audio is very well done and I could hear the emphasis and lyricism in the narrator's voice. The story is compelling and shows the importance of believing in yourself and each other and joining together to survive. Highly recommended. A 6-8 Sunshine State nominated book for 2020-21.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2020-07-25 02:24
The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin
The City of Mirrors: A Novel (Book Three of The Passage Trilogy) - Justin Cronin

This final book in the series was just as good as the rest. An amazing story that I was sorry to see come to an end. I love the way everything tied together in a period of time that lasted over a thousand years!

 

After reading the whole thing, I watched The Passage tv show (it aired on FOX last year and was cancelled). It was ok. They changed a lot but I can see why. At the end of the series, they moved forward in time just like the book and were going to start where book 2 begins (I think). It could have been amazing... but it would never have compared to the books. :)

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2020-07-25 02:15
The Twelve by Justin Cronin
The Twelve - Justin Cronin

Book 2 in an EPIC series. I loved every minute of it.

 

(I'm not putting much effort into these reviews because I have no idea if the site will even work.)

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2020-06-26 03:09
Last Firehawk Book #8 - The Silver Swamp
The Silver Swamp - Katrina Charman

Audience: Early Elementary (1st-3rd)

Format: Ebook/Library Copy

 

Tag and Skyla stood in a dusty clearing and examined the magical map.

- first sentence

This is a cute story, with animal main characters who are on a quest. This is the first book of the series I read, but the kids at school love it. There is an introduction at the beginning of the book to remind kids what the characters are currently facing (the story continues from book to book).  The Branches books are a gentle bridge into chapter books for early readers. They still have pictures, but the stories are more complex and interesting. A great series for kids who like magical animals and adventure.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2020-06-17 02:09
Stepping Stones - graphic novel
Stepping Stones - Lucy Knisley

Audience: Middle Grade

Format: Ebook/Library Copy

 

Things I miss about the city:

- second panel 

 

This is a cute story about a girl whose mom moved her from the city to a farm in the country. Jen doesn't like the farm and doesn't want to take care of chickens. She misses her dad who is still in the city. Her parents are divorced and Jen's mom has moved to the farm with Walter, "her new BFF."

 

Jen is a sweet girl and I totally understood her issues. When Walter's two daughters from his previous marriage come to the farm on weekends, it is a challenge for Jen to adjust (she is an only child). But she ends up learning from the girls and they learn from her as well. The message of the book is that everyone is good at something and nobody is good at everything, but everyone is important.

 

Cute and recommended for fans of Smile, Roller Girl, Drama, etc.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?