logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: bookish-first
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-03-19 02:07
Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams
Queenie - Candice Carty-Williams

A special thank you to NetGalley, BookishFirst, Gallery/Scout Press, and Simon & Schuster Canada for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Meet Queenie Jenkins—a 25-year-old Jamaican British woman who is straddling two heritages and trying find her place. She has just been dumped by her long-time white boyfriend and is on notice at work where she is constantly comparing herself to her white middle class peers.

Needless to say, Queenie is not in a good frame of mind and she is making some pretty awful decisions concerning who she spends her free time with and with whom she is seeks comfort from.

Carty-Williams has written an honest account of one woman's struggle, which sadly many women can relate to, and at the same time, given us a character to root for. Unfortunately Queenie's story isn't unique, there are many women out there struggling with issues of sexism, racism, and self-acceptance. She is a modern woman trying to navigate her way through a messy break-up, figuring out where she fits in, and learning that her self-worth does not come in the form of toxic relationships.

Queenie is so much more than Bridget Jones, and I don't mean that as a slight to Helen Fielding's brilliant heroine, but there is no comparison. Bridget is a funny, awkward and endearing character that journals her life in cheeky entries, whereas Queenie is a more series character with incredible depth. There is also a heaviness about the book and again, this is another reason why a Bridget Jones comparison is doing this novel a disservice.

 

I adored her grandparents, especially her grandfather (and those of you who have read this book will know what scene I am referring to). What I didn't like was that the author uses Queenie's promiscuity as a symptom of her anxiety and I'm not sure that this is entirely accurate—I think that it is rather a symptom of her lack of self esteem.

What is also interesting is that Carty-Williams makes no apologies for Queenie, nor should she. She is a bold, brash, and flawed character who at times does some really unlikeable things. But we keep pulling for her.

Carty-Williams explores identity, racism, mental health and what its like to be a young woman in the dating scene in the age of technology. She tackles some daunting social issues and uses Queenie's humour and solid supporting cast of friends/grandparent to keep the story from getting too dark.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-03-12 13:02
Review: Little Darlings by Melanie Golding
Little Darlings - Melanie Golding

 

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

 

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

 

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

 

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

 

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

 

*I received a free copy from the publisher via Bookish First and chose to leave a voluntary review. Thank you!*

 

I really enjoyed this book, it so fun to read in a creepy kind of way, It had a fantasy, thriller and mystery vibe.

I always think that anything creepy with kids makes it so much creepier, and I think that is one reason I loved this book so much. But also because you never really sure what it really is and left to your imagination.

In the beginning I was not a fan of Lauren and thought of her a bit annoying but as the book went I couldn't help but feel sorry for her.

I thought the writing was great and had a hard time putting the book down and it kept me creeped out and scarred on the edge of my seat.

There were only a few parts I really didn't care for but for the most part I really enjoyed this book, even more than I thought.

If you are a fan of Grimm retelling, mystery, and a bit of horror, definitely give this book a try, I'm sure you will like it.

I rate it 4★

 

 

 

Buy Links 

 

Will be available April 30, 2019

 

Amazon *** B&N *** Kobo 

 

Source: snoopydoosbookreviews.com/index.php/2019/03/12/review-little-darlings-by-melanie-golding
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
video 2019-02-19 15:45
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2019-02-18 13:04
Bookish friends are the best: Thank you so much, BT!!

Hand-delivered by my postman this morning.  Woohoo!

 

I love the design, and I love how sturdy and yet lightweight it is.  AND it's even got a lid with an open / shut setting for letting some steam get out while still keeping the contents hot ... thank you once more!

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2019-02-16 17:19
Review: Bloodwitch (The Witchlands #3) by Susan Dennard
Bloodwitch - Susan Dennard

Fans of Susan Dennard's New York Times bestselling Witchlands series have fallen in love with the Bloodwitch Aeduan. And now, finally, comes his story.

High in a snowy mountain range, a monastery that holds more than just faith clings to the side of a cliff. Below, thwarted by a lake, a bloodthirsty horde of raiders await the coming of winter and the frozen path to destroy the sanctuary and its secrets.

The Bloodwitch Aeduan has teamed up with the Threadwitch Iseult and the magical girl Owl to stop the destruction. But to do so, he must confront his own father, and his past.

 

 

*I received a free copy from the publisher via Bookish First and chose to leave a voluntary review. Thank you!*

 

 

 

This books starts of a bit after where the last book ended. The ending from last book gave am a bit of hope for the characters. But it is soon apparent that things are not turning for the better that was first believed. Much like last book this book was very story and characters, but we also get a great amount of action here. We also learn so much more background of both story and characters.

As with last book we get a couple more POV in this one and you would think it be confusing but it really is not and adds so much more to the story.  The crew is still separated for the most part and everyone is trying to find and save someone.

Of course a parts is centered on Aeduan and Iseult but also, I think, equal parts all the other people. The truce was broken as we know and with that the war is raging. Everyone is fighting and trying to escape somewhere.

There are plenty of twist in this book, I got to the point that I didn’t know who to trust, and mostly did not see things coming. The last 150-200 pages were insane and nonstop action, surprises and emotional.

There were also some really interesting characters developments, that I didn’t see coming but ended up really likening.

The end was brutal. What a hell of a cliffhanger.  If you are not good with cliff hanger maybe wait for the next book to release.

Several characters we know and love may or may not make it …. That is pretty much where she left us with. That is all I can say, without spoiling things.

Overall I really loved this book and highly recommend this series to any and all fantasy lovers. Even with the major cliffhangers.

I give this book full 5 ★and now will ever so penitently wait for the next book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Available NOW 

Amazon *** B&N *** Kobo 

 

 

Source: snoopydoosbookreviews.com/index.php/2019/02/16/review-bloodwitch-the-witchlands-3-by-susan-dennard
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?