logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Color of Earth - Kim Dong Hwa
The Color of Earth
by: (author)
3.83 115
First love is never easy.   Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers – both neighbors and strangers – look down on her mother for her single lifestyle.  Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet... show more
First love is never easy.   Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers – both neighbors and strangers – look down on her mother for her single lifestyle.  Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet country village.  But as she gets older and sees her mother fall in love again, Ehwa slowly begins to open up to the possibility of love in her life. In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea. 
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9781596434585 (1596434589)
Publisher: First Second
Pages no: 312
Edition language: English
Series: Color Trilogy (#1)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Inkspot Fancy
Inkspot Fancy rated it
4.0 The Color of Earth
What a lovely, expressive manhwa. :)The Color of Earth looks at a girl, her relationship with her mother, their place in their world and her growing awareness of her body and sexuality. It's a peaceful, slowly paced story about people and their interactions.The art is absolutely lovely, and the char...
Reading Robyn
Reading Robyn rated it
4.0 The Color of Earth
A pinnacle part of growing up is the discovery of sexuality. What is it? What does it mean? What is sex? What is love? And how does everyone coexist with all this sexual tension?! It's difficult to remember what it was like when childhood curiosity first leads a person to begin asking questions. In ...
drey's library
drey's library rated it
5.0 The Color of Earth
I love the cover of The Color of Earth, and it's the reason I even picked it up at all. Then I opened the book and was swept away by the captivating story of a little girl who is growing up and learning about love and life.Ehwa is seven years old when we meet her, and she's found out that the villag...
Bright and Shiny Shiny
Bright and Shiny Shiny rated it
5.0
The artwork is absolutely beautiful and the story is very sweet! I would highly recommend this 1st in a 3 vol series and must confess was very surprised to find the author was a man.
Bright and Shiny Shiny
Bright and Shiny Shiny rated it
5.0 The Color of Earth
The artwork is absolutely beautiful and the story is very sweet! I would highly recommend this 1st in a 3 vol series and must confess was very surprised to find the author was a man.
Books by Kim Dong Hwa
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?