logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
The Color of Water - Kim Dong Hwa
The Color of Water
by: (author)
3.50 80
When Ehwa goes to the town festival, she meets a handsome young wrestler named Duksam who’s eager to catch her eye. After he wins the festival wrestling championship, he and Ehwa begin to meet, sneaking spare moments to be together. But a shadow falls on their romance when Master Cho sends Duksam... show more
When Ehwa goes to the town festival, she meets a handsome young wrestler named Duksam who’s eager to catch her eye. After he wins the festival wrestling championship, he and Ehwa begin to meet, sneaking spare moments to be together. But a shadow falls on their romance when Master Cho sends Duksam away and asks for Ehwa’s hand in marriage himself It is then that Ehwa discovers the pain of heartbreak – and that love is always complicated. In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea. 
show less
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9781596434592 (1596434597)
Publisher: First Second
Pages no: 320
Edition language: English
Series: Color Trilogy (#2)
Bookstores:
Community Reviews
Muccamukk
Muccamukk rated it
3.0 The Color of Water
I liked this marginally more than the first one. The art remains stunning, and I like the mother daughter relationship a lot, both the open affection and confidence and the sources of tension. It's still relentlessly about relationships between men and women though, even if we see young female peers...
Hello Book, So Long Sleep...
Hello Book, So Long Sleep... rated it
2.0 The Color of Water
There was just too much stuff that gave me the "ickies" in this book. The love interest for the young girl has got to be at least ten years older. (so the girl is about 12 to 13), there are constant old men making remarks on how her sweet young face gets them stiff. One old man wants to buy her. The...
Inkspot Fancy
Inkspot Fancy rated it
4.0
Ahhh, the lovely and rare stories about a mother and daughter. :) As Ehwa continues on the path to womanhood, she both begins to learn from and empathize with her mother more, but also to come into friction with her more often. Add in a new young man who makes her heart flutter like a butterfly's wi...
Reading Robyn
Reading Robyn rated it
The Colour of Water is such a seamless transition from The Colour of Earth that I feel everything I said in that review can be applied to this book as well. The messages about sex, the mother-daughter relationship, the story of Ehwa gradually maturing, and even the heavy-laden metaphors about nature...
drey's library
drey's library rated it
4.0
In The Color of Water, Ehwa is now sixteen. She meets Duksam, and spends her free time daydreaming about him and about love. Is he the one for her? When his employer sees her, though, the old lech decides to set the matchmaker to pursue Ehwa's hand in marriage.In the meantime, Ehwa's mother still pi...
Books by Kim Dong Hwa
On shelves
Share this Book
Need help?