logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: Sequential-Art
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-28 00:41
All's Faire in Middle School by Victoria Jamieson
All's Faire in Middle School - Victoria Jamieson

Preteen angst visits the ren-faire and it was enjoyable.

Imogene has grown up working and playing at the Renaissance Faire where her parents work. This year she's old enough to start training as a squire and she's proud of the responsibility. Too prove her worth she decides to brave public school after a lifetime of homeschooling. She soon runs afoul of cliquey preteen girls who criticize her clothes and she becomes aware that her family and her home are not like everyone else's.

Middle school is just awful. There's no pretending its anything else. Jamieson writes a all-too-typical story with an unusual flair.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-21 03:35
Brave, (Awkward #2) by Svetlana Chmakova
Brave - Svetlana Chmakova
  Jensen is having a hard time in middle school, but the tragic fact, initially at least for the reader, is that he doesn't know it. Because he believes that sunspots are a real danger to us all, among other reasons, he's teased, tormented, and even ignored or taken for granted by his classmates.

Chmakova's story is full of humor and affectionate for its characters, and the first half of it was a great character study. As for the second part, most people won't have any issues, but I was bothered by how the plot was resolved. Brave has an important message, but I don't know if its the right way to teach compassion.

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-11-11 23:48
Over a month behind...yikes!
Spinning - Tillie Walden,Tillie Walden

Tillie Walden's Spinning is a graphic novel/memoir in the vein of Blankets or Stitches, err, with less child abuse. It chronicles the author's competitive experience with figure skating as a child, falling in love, learning how to communicate, and the changes she was undergoing and why she ultimately felt like she had to leave the sport behind.

 

Despite also being an introvert and being on the queer spectrum, the only pieces of Walden's experience that I could personally relate to were parental indifference to sports involvement. I, of course, used that as an excuse to never play any sports past 3rd grade. This is also one of the first books I can immediately tell has been created by someone younger than my generation. There's a quality to the book, not to mention the ubiquity of handheld smart electronics, that I can't pinpoint that made me feel ancient. It was a great experience.

 

This was a great find, highly recommended for any teen reader (or older) looking for a good coming of age story. Walden's storytelling transcends any pigeon-holes a bookseller may be tempted to use to categorize her book.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2017-08-15 00:45
Junji Ito's Cat Diary: Yon & Mu
Junji Ito's Cat Diary: Yon & Mu - Junji Ito
J-kun appears to have it all: a thriving career, a lovely fiancee, and a brand-new house. To make everything perfect he has invited A-ko, his fiancee, to live with him. He overlooked one thing.

A-ko has a cat.

And that cat that will not come alone.

Junji Ito sets a masterfully eerie tone with the framing of each panel and the absecene of pupils or irises in A-ko's eyes. Its not secret that horror and comedy often go hand in hand, and J-kun's transformation from cat-loather to cat-lover is extremely funny and disturbing.

Junji Ito's Cat Diary is a must-read for lovers of cats and the macabre alike.
 
 
 
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review 2015-02-25 16:33
Avengers, Vol. 2 - Brian Michael Bendis

This volume was a lot better thought out than the first, in my opinion. I really liked the way the story handled the Steve/Tony banter and it didn't seem immature. There aren't many distractions, unlike the first that had the problem that everyone had one liners rather than contributing to the conversation. I thought the Spider-girl story was alright, Jessica is definitely an intriguing character and I find myself interested in picking up more comics with her in the fore-front.

More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?