logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
Discussion: 2019 Booklikes-opoly Q & A
posts: 15 views: 2126 last post: 9 months ago
created by: Abandoned by user
back to group back to club
Reply to post #64 (show post):

Landing on GO is the same as passing GO, because you roll again immediately if you land on GO. It's not a book square. :)
I was just wondering if it's okay for me to start the game again? I started it a week ago and have been really busy and have forgotten where I was! Thanks.
http://lindahilton.booklikes.com/post/1892051/sea-glass-by-anita-shreve

Is this a beach-y enough cover for space #13?
13. Read a book with sunglasses, swimsuit or other beachy items on the cover, or that has a cover that is more than 50% yellow.
Reply to post #65 (show post):

Thank you. That means I have another roll to do
@Hol - yes, you can definitely start the game again.
@Linda - I don't see anything that I would really call "beachy" on that cover, except for the beach itself, and that card is really about beach "accessories". It would qualify for either 10 or 11, but I don't think it quite works for 13.
Reply to post #69 (show post):

@Moonlight - Well, here's the thing. ;-)

The copy of Sea Glass I have was purchased at the Fiends[sic] of the Library sale for 25 cents. Hard cover, no dust jacket, binding damaged. I posted my question above with the first cover I found online, which had the beach-y scene, but no accessories, no yellow.

However, here's a link to one of the many other editions, with a big floppy beach hat and more than 50% yellow???

https://www.marlowesbooks.com/Sea-Glass-Shreve-Anita-Book-38042

After I found that, it occurred to me --DUH! -- to look here. It's on BL, too, though I think the description may be wrong.

http://booklikes.com/sea-glass-a-novel-anita-shreve/book,566379

Similarly, I have a copy of The Last Time They Met by Shreve, which has a cover with a kayak (beach accessory)

http://booklikes.com/the-last-time-they-met-anita-shreve/book,416375

and another edition with a bright yellow dress (not 50% of the cover, but more than 50% eye-catching!)

http://booklikes.com/last-time-they-met-anita-shreve/book,416381

My hardcover copy from the Fiends has no cover. :-(


Your call?
Reply to post #70 (show post):

I got distracted by the Fiends of the Library. hahahaha.

OK, back to your question (and sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you. I've worked about 30 hours so far this long weekend).

Kayak is definitely a beach accoutrement.
Floppy hat is a go.

:)
Reply to post #71 (show post):

Thanks!

I may have a brief PM to you later this afternoon (Mon.) if that's okay?
Reply to post #72 (show post):

Yes, although I am not sure when I will get it. I am underwater with my trial schedule next week. I will try to check in this evening.
Reply to post #74 (show post):

You can DNF. According to the rules:

"*DNF's are allowed. You can count the # of pages read to get your payout - so if you read 120 pages before DNF'ing, you get $2.00 for your bank. The only caveat is that you have to read 10% of the book to get any payout."

As long as you didn't roll yesterday, you are free to roll immediately.

Oh - sorry, I didn't fully grasp your question. So, you don't need to finish it before you move on, but you do have to "complete" the square before you move on. You could treat it as a DNF and take what you have already gotten for the book and roll, and finish the book anyway.

You can't move until you complete the square, though, so you can't roll before the book is finished and still take all of the bank money for finishing after leaving the square.

Hope that makes sense.
I didn't read the rules properly, landed on a novelty square, thought it was a reading square and read a book for it *slaps head*. Should I start the game again? I'm not quite sure how to proceed now. Thanks.
Reply to post #62 (show post):

I think I did the same thing as you. The rules state that you roll again, but instead I used the card there and didn't move, effectively missing a roll. Didn't notice until you brought it up :)
Reply to post #63 (show post):

Did you just carry on with your current game?
I would just keep going. There's always another chance to land on one of those squares!
Reply to post #64 (show post):

yes i did :/
Need help?