logo
Wrong email address or username
Wrong email address or username
Incorrect verification code
back to top
Search tags: mental-health-disability
Load new posts () and activity
Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review SPOILER ALERT! 2018-10-29 02:52
Book Review : A quiet kind of thunder Sarah Barnard
A Quiet Kind of Thunder - Sara Barnard

sep 24-29 

A girl who can’t speak and a boy who can’t hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson.

Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition’s name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not “select” not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can’t open her mouth to get out the words.

Steffi’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she’ll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person


Review : this book was beautiful I loved it Steffi is mute she meets Rhys who is deaf they start to form a friendship I cried a bit in this book cause I related so much to Steffi . Rhys and Steffi start dating . Steffi starts to talk a bit more . Rhys and Steffi decide to go on a secret trip but then a accident happens and Steffi has to talk to get Rhys to the hospital . Rhys sends steffi a email and she tells him to meet up with her and they talk and they decide to talk way more and no more secrets loved this book.

Quotes :

“Panic attacks are a lot like being drunk in some ways, you lose self-control. You cry for seemingly no reason. You deal with the hangover long into the next day.”

“Here are three separate but similar things: shyness, introversion and social anxiety. You can have one, two or all three of these things simultaneously. A lot of the time people thing they're all the same thing, but that's just not true. Extroverts can be shy, introverts can be bold, and a condition like anxiety can strike whatever kind of social animal you are. 

Lots of people are shy. Shy is normal. A bit of anxiety is normal. Throw the two together, add some brain-signal error - a NO ENTRY sign on the neural highway from my brain to my mouth perhaps, though no one really knows - and you have me.” 

 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2018-09-29 07:12
Reading progress update: I've read 385 out of 385 pages.
A Quiet Kind of Thunder - Sara Barnard

Beautiful 

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
review SPOILER ALERT! 2017-12-29 05:45
Book review : Things I'm seeing without you peter bognanni
Things I'm Seeing Without You - Peter Bognanni

October 29- December 11 Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after learning of Jonah’s death. Jonah, the boy she’d traded banter with over texts and heartfelt e-mails. Jonah, the first boy she'd told she loved and the first boy to say it back. Jonah, the boy whose suicide she never saw coming. Tess continues to write to Jonah, as a way of processing her grief and confusion. But for now she finds solace in perhaps the unlikeliest of ways: by helping her father with his new alternative funeral business, where his biggest client is . . . a prized racehorse? As Tess’s involvement in her father’s business grows, both find comfort in the clients they serve and in each other. But love, loss, and life are so much more complicated than Tess ever thought. Especially after she receives a message that turns her life upside down.

Review : This book was beautiful and sad Tess's boyfriend Jonah killed himself and she's not doing very well she's dropped out of school moved in with her dad and then she finds out to the end of Jonah's end that his roommate was msg her which she was hurt about . Her dad and her are doing this special funeral business and Jonah's roommate vists her and they talk and decide to plan Jonah's funeral . This book made me cry cause it talked about anxiety and I could relate and if you've ever lost someone you should read this book . They end up in italy and do Jonahs funeral which made me cry and the roomate and tess part ways and start writing letters it was beautiful.

Quotes:

 

You can't just run away from your grief . you have to deal with it head on . no matter how difficult and strange it is . we both took a drink of coffee. There are no shortcuts she said . you have to do the hard stuff before it gets any easier.

I want you to take your picture and send it to me 
Its a little dark
Turn on a light , genius 
Should I send it to you now
I'm going to hang up , I said , and then you're going to send it to me . But there's one last thing .
What ?
I want you to be naked in the picture .
More silence 
Its only fair . I think you know that .
I didn't wait for a response . I just ended the call. And I fully expected that he would call right back and try to argue his way out of it . But he didn't do that . And as time passed at this rate about an hour per second, I wondered maybe if it was better if he didn't do it 
It would give me a chance to break contact , to prove that he never really wanted to be on even ground with me .
What does a true liar do , after all , when you ask him to stand naked .

so what's the point of what we do ? I asked if we can't provide that. 
Well... He said . He handed me a napkin for my tears. Maybe part of its just to reaffirm to people.
Reaffirm what ?
He looked away and scratched his chin , covered in black and gray stubble . Then he met my eyes again , and for once he didnt look like a sad clown . He looked serious .
that we don't need as much closure as we think we do .


I'm scared that I don't matter , even a little bit and no one matters and nothing matters . I'm scared that it all matters and I'm fucking it up . I'm scared I'm living my short short life wrong in every possible way . I'm scared I've already made so many mistakes and I dont have enough time to fix them . I'm scared I won't die with the slightest amount of dignity ,like on the toilet or watching bravo . I'm scared no one will care when I do . I'm scared that the only person I ever loved wasn't real . I'm scared I will never get over him . And I'm scared I'm making the same mistake again.

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
text 2017-12-18 21:29
Reading progress update: I've read 33 out of 336 pages.
Little & Lion - Brandy Colbert

I'm  enjoying this  so  far  

Like Reblog Comment
show activity (+)
quote 2017-12-11 18:41
it's easy to get stuck.To let one big thing hold you in place . And it's such a waste .Don't fall for it . It will keep you from everything
More posts
Your Dashboard view:
Need help?